Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa

CHANGE OF PLEA 1203.4
PACKET

What you will find in this packet:

Petition to Change Plea Instructions (CR-500a-INFO)
Petition for Dismissal (CR-180)

Order or Dismissal (CR-181)

Statement of Assets (CR-506)

Declaration (MC-031)
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Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa

CHANGE OF PLEA AND DISMISSAL
PENAL CODE SECTIONS 1203.4, 1203.4a, and 817

You are eligible for a Change of Plea and Dismissal under Section 1203.4 or 1203.4a if:

Your sentence included a fine, probation and/or county jail (not state prison);
You have completed the jail sentence for that conviction;

You are no longer on probation or parole for any conviction;

You do not have any pending charge against you in any jurisdiction.

PLEASE NOTE:

=

!

If you completed probation successfully, (no revocations, arrests, other convictions),
the court will typically grant your Change of Plea and Dismissal.

If you did not complete probation successfully, the Court may or may not decide to
grant your Change of Plea and Dismissal. Attach supporting documents (letters of
support, completion of education program, Certificate of Completion for job training
or drug/alcohol rehabilitation program, etc.) to your petition(s).

If you were sentenced to prison, you can apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation
seven to ten years after being released from custody. You may apply for the
Certificate of Rehabilitation in the superior court of the county where you live now,
even if your convictions were in another county (See Penal Code Section 2852.06).

If all of your convictions are dismissed under Penal Code Section 1203.4 or 1203.4a:

e You have the legal right to say No Convictions on private job applications, and
those convictions should not appear on private background checks.

e When applying for an occupational license, a Change of Plea and Dismissal can
be used to demonstrate rehabilitation.

About Felony Reduction(s) under Section 17:

¢ If the felony conviction could have originally been sentenced either as a misdemeanor or as a
felony, it is eligible to be reduced to a misdemeanor before being dismissed under Section
1203.4 or 1203.4a. Submit supporting documents (described above) with your petition.

e Felony convictions reduced under Section 17 become misdemeanors for all purposes.

e |f you were sentenced to state prison (or the state prison sentence was suspended), you are

not eligible to have your felony reduced to a misdemeanor.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHANGE OF PLEA PETITION

Contact the Public Defender at (925) 335-8000 for Contra Costa County convictions

-0OR -

Fill out and file the attached court forms yourself.

1. If you fill out the forms yourself, complete a separate petition for each case/docket number and:

a. Include the correct case/docket number, date of conviction, and the exact code section(s) of

each conviction on each petition.

b. Bring 2 copies and the original of each petition when you file these forms.

c. You may be required to pay reimbursement costs up to $150 for felony and misdemeanor
convictions where you served a term of probation; or $60 for a misdemeanor conviction where
no probation was involved and any infraction. You can pay by cash, credit card, money order,

cashier’'s check, or traveler’'s check.

d. If you cannot afford to pay the reimbursement costs, fill out the attached Financial Evaluation
form and the court will make a decision about your ability to pay at the time your petition is

decided.

e. If you fail to pay court-ordered reimbursement costs by the due date, the debt will be sent to
the court’s collection agency (AllianceOne), and you will have to pay an additional
administrative fee of up to $50.00 (See Penal Code Section 1205(d)).

f. If you have a felony conviction, file your petition(s) for a Change of Plea and Dismissal for all

of your convictions in Martinez.

g. If you have more than one misdemeanor conviction (from different courthouses), file your
petition(s) in the court where the most recent misdemeanor case was filed. All of your petitions
will be heard in the court where the petition(s) is filed at the same time:

IF YOU HAVE THESE KINDS OF CASE(S):

FILE YOUR
PETITION AT THE

COURT ADDRESS

CLERK’S
OFFICE

e All Felonies

o Felonies with other Misdemeanor case(s)
e Misdemeanors

e Misdemeanors with Infractions

And the most recent misd. case was in
Walnut Creek, Concord/Mt. Diablo

Wakefield Taylor
Courthouse

725 Court Street
Room 127
Martinez, CA 94553

(925) 608-1000

e Misdemeanors
e Misdemeanors with Infractions
¢ Infractions
And the most recent misd. case was in Pittsburg

Arnason Justice
Center Courthouse

1000 Center Drive,
Pittsburg, CA 94565

(925) 608-1000

e Misdemeanors

e Misdemeanors with Infractions

¢ Infractions

And the most recent misd. case was in Richmond

George D. Carroll
Courthouse

100 — 37! Street,
Richmond, CA 94805

(925) 608-1000

e Infractions

Walnut Creek
Courthouse

640 Ygnacio Valley
Road, Walnut Creek,
CA 94596

(925) 608-1000
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What happens after the Change of Plea form is filed?

1. The Probation Department or Court Probation will conduct an investigation. This includes a
criminal history search.

2. The Probation Department or Court Probation will recommend that the judge either grant or deny
your request for a Change of Plea and Dismissal.

PLEASE NOTE:
=>
If Probation recommends approving your Change of Plea and Dismissal, and the

judge agrees, there will be no hearing. The Change of Plea and dismissal will be
granted, and the court order will be sent to the address listed on the petition(s).

If Probation recommends that the judge deny your Change of Plea and Dismissal,
or the judge or the district attorney requests a hearing, a hearing date will be set.
The court will send a notice with a hearing date to the address listed on the
petition(s).

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT SECTION 1203.4 or 1203.4a DISMISSALS

1 | WILL THE CONVICTION BE COMPLETELY “CLEARED,” NO. The initial conviction is still in the court
“ERASED,” “SEALED,"” OR “DESTROYED?” file, and on file with the Department of Justice.

e In any direct question in a questionnaire
or application for public office

e For a license by any state or local public

2 | When do | have to disclose my conviction?
agency

e For contracting with the California State
Lottery Commission.

3 | Will my conviction still count as a “strike” or a “prior"? Yes.

4 | Can _the ponviction s;ill be used as grounds for deportation in an Yes.
immigration proceeding?

5 | Will my right to possess a firearm be restored? No.

6 If | am required to register as a sex offender, will the Change of No.

Plea and Dismissal remove that requirement?

If | am required to register as a narcotics offender under Section
7 | 11590 of the Health and Safety Code, will the Change of Plea and
Dismissal remove that requirement?

Yes. You do not have to wait until 5 years
after probation ends.

8 If my driver’s license was suspended or revoked, will the Change of

Plea and Dismissal reinstate it No. Check with the DMV for more information.
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CR-180

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER: FOR COURT USE ONLY
NAME:
FIRM NAME:
STREET ADDRESS:
CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:
EMAIL ADDRESS:
ATTORNEY FOR (name):
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF

STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA CASE NUMBER:

V.
DEFENDANT:
FOR COURT USE ONLY
PETITION FOR DISMISSAL DATE:
(Pen. Code, §§ 17(b), 17(d)(2), 1203.4, 1203.4a, 1203.41, 1203.42, 1203.43, 1203.49) TIME:
DEPARTMENT:

Note to petitioner: Your conviction may have already been automatically dismissed by the California Department of Justice (DOJ)
under Penal Code section 1203.425. If so, this petition may be unnecessary—but there may be additional benefits to filing it with the
court, including felony reduction under Penal Code section 17(b). If you want to know if your conviction has already been dismissed,
you can request your Record of Arrest and Prosecution (RAP) sheet from the DOJ, but this is not required.

1. On (date):

following offenses or was granted deferred entry of judgment for the following offenses:

, the petitioner (the defendant in the above-entitled criminal action) was convicted of a violation of the

Code
(Penal,
Vehicle, etc.)

Section

Type of offense (felony,
misdemeanor, or infraction)

Eligible for reduction to
misdemeanor under Penal

Code, § 17(b) (yes or no)

Eligible for reduction to
infraction under Penal
Code, § 17(d)(2) (yes or no)

If additional space is needed for listing offenses, use Attachment to Judicial Council Form (form MC-025).

2. [__] Felony or misdemeanor with probation granted (Pen. Code, § 1203.4)

Probation was granted on the terms and conditions stated in the docket of the above-entitled court; the petitioner is not
serving a sentence for any offense, on probation for any offense, or currently charged with committing any crime, and the
petitioner (check all that apply)

a. [ has fulfilled the conditions of probation for the entire period thereof.

b. [__] has been discharged from probation prior to the termination of the period thereof.

c. [__] should be granted relief in the interests of justice. (Please note: You may explain why granting a dismissal would be
in the interests of justice. You can provide that information by writing in the space below, or by attaching a letter or
other relevant documents. If you need more space for your writing, you can use Attachment (form MC-025) or
Attached Declaration (form MC-031) (which is signed under penalty of perjury) and attach it to this petition.)

Page 1 of 3

Form Approved for Optional Use
Judicial Council of California
CR-180 [Rev. January 1, 2024]

PETITION FOR DISMISSAL
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CR-180

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA v. DEFENDANT: CASE NUMBER:

3. [__] Misdemeanor or infraction with sentence other than probation (Pen. Code, § 1203.4a)
Probation was not granted; more than one year has elapsed since judgment was pronounced. Petitioner has complied with
the sentence of the court and is not serving a sentence for any offense or currently charged with committing any crime; and
the petitioner (check one)

a. [__] has lived an honest and upright life since pronouncement of judgment and conformed to and obeyed the laws of the land;
or

b. [__] should be granted relief in the interests of justice. (Please note: You may explain why granting a dismissal would be in
the interests of justice. You can provide that information by writing in the space below or by attaching a letter or other
relevant documents. If you need more space for your writing, you can use Attachment (form MC-025) or Attached
Declaration (form MC-031) (which is signed under penalty of perjury) and attach it to this petition.)

4. [ ] Misdemeanor conviction under Penal Code section 647(b) (Pen. Code, § 1203.49)

Petitioner has completed a term of probation for a conviction under Penal Code section 647(b) and should be granted relief
because the conviction was the result of petitioner's status as a victim of human trafficking.

(Please provide evidence that the conviction was the result of your status as a victim of human trafficking. You can provide
that information by writing in the space below or by attaching a letter or other relevant documents. If you need more space for
your writing, you can use Attachment (form MC-025) or Attached Declaration (form MC-031) (which is signed under penalty
of perjury) and attach it to this petition.)

5. [__] Felony county jail sentence under Penal Code section 1170(h)(5) or felony state prison sentence (Pen. Code,

§ 1203.41)

Petitioner is not on parole or under supervision under Penal Code section 1170(h)(5)(B); is not serving a sentence for, on
probation for, or currently charged with committing any crime; and should be granted relief in the interests of justice, and
(check one)
a. [__] more than one year has elapsed since petitioner completed the felony county jail sentence with a period of mandatory
supervision imposed under Penal Code section 1170(h)(5)(B).
b. [___] more than two years have elapsed since petitioner completed the felony county jail sentence without a period of
mandatory supervision imposed under Penal Code section 1170(h)(5)(A).

c. [__] more than two years have elapsed since petitioner completed the felony state prison sentence, and the conviction did not
result in a requirement to register as a sex offender under Chapter 5.5 (starting with section 290) of Title 9 of Part 1 of the
Penal Code.
(Please note: You may explain why granting a dismissal would be in the interests of justice. You can provide that
information by writing in the space below or by attaching a letter or other relevant documents. If you need more space for
your writing, you can use Attachment (form MC-025) or Attached Declaration (form MC-031) (which is signed under
penalty of perjury) and attach it to this petition.)

CR-180 [Rev. January 1, 2024] PETITION FOR DISMISSAL Page 2 of 3



CR-180

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA v. DEFENDANT: CASE NUMBER:

6. |:| Felony prison sentence that would have been eligible for a felony county jail sentence after 2011 under
Penal Code section 1170(h)(5) (Pen. Code, § 1203.42)
Petitioner is not under supervision and is not serving a sentence for, on probation for, or currently charged with committing

any crime; more than two years have elapsed since petitioner completed the felony prison sentence; and petitioner should be
granted relief in the interests of justice.

(Please note: You may explain why granting a dismissal would be in the interests of justice. You can provide that information
by writing in the space below or by attaching a letter or other relevant documents. If you need more space for your writing,
you can use Attachment (form MC-025) or Attached Declaration (form MC-031) (which is signed under penalty of perjury) and
attach it to this petition.)

7. [ ] Deferred entry of judgment (Pen. Code, § 1203.43)
Petitioner performed satisfactorily during the period in which deferred entry of judgment was granted. The criminal
charge(s) were dismissed under former Penal Code section 1000.3 on (date): . Furthermore (check one),

a. [ court records are available showing the case resolution; or

b. [__] petitioner declares under penalty of perjury that the charges were dismissed after petitioner completed the requirements
for deferred entry of judgment. Petitioner (check one)

() [ has
(2) [_] hasnot

attached a copy of petitioner's state summary criminal history information.

8. Petitioner requests that the eligible felony offenses listed above be reduced to misdemeanors under Penal Code section 17(b) and
eligible misdemeanor offenses be reduced to infractions under Penal Code section 17(d)(2).

9. Petitioner requests that petitioner be permitted to withdraw the plea of guilty, or that the verdict or finding of guilt be set aside and a
plea of not guilty be entered and the court dismiss this action under the Penal Code section(s) noted above.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)
(SIGNATURE OF PETITIONER OR ATTORNEY)

CR-180 [Rev. January 1, 2024] PETITION FOR DISMISSAL Page 3 of 3



CR-181

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY
NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY:

TELEPHONE NO.:

EMAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

STATE BAR NUMBER: FOR COURT USE ONLY

STATE: ZIP CODE:
FAX NO.:

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

V.
DEFENDANT:

ORDER FOR DISMISSAL CASE NUMBER:
(Pen. Code, §§ 17(b), 17(d)(2), 1203.4, 1203.4a, 1203.41, 1203.42, 1203.43, 1203.49)

From the petition filed in this matter, the records of the court, and any other evidence presented in this matter, the court orders as

follows:

1. [__] The court GRANTS the petition for reduction of a felony to a misdemeanor (maximum punishment of 364 days per Pen. Code,
§ 18.5) under Penal Code section 17(b) and/or for reduction of a misdemeanor to an infraction under Penal Code section

17(d)(2) and reduces

a. [ ] ALL FELONY CONVICTIONS in the above-entitled action.
b. [ ] ALL MISDEMEANOR CONVICTIONS in the above-entitled action.
c. [__] only the following convictions in the above-entitled action (specify charges and date of conviction):

2. [__] The court DENIES the petition for reduction of a felony to a misdemeanor under Penal Code section 17(b) and/or for
reduction of a misdemeanor to an infraction under Penal Code section 17(d)(2) for

a. [__] ALL FELONY CONVICTIONS in the above-entitled action.
b. [__] ALL MISDEMEANOR CONVICTIONS in the above-entitled action.
c. [__] only the following convictions in the above-entitled action (specify charges and date of conviction):

3. [ ] The court GRANTS the petition for dismissal regarding the following convictions under Penal Code (check all that apply)
[ ]§12034 [ ] §1203.4a [ ] §1203.41 [ ]§120342 [ _]8§120343 [ __]§1203.49

and it is ordered that the pleas of guilty or nolo contendere or verdicts or findings of guilt be set aside and vacated and a plea of
not guilty be entered and that the complaint or information be, and is hereby, dismissed for (check one)

a. [ ] ALL CONVICTIONS OR PLEAS FOR DEFERRED ENTRY OF JUDGMENT in the above-entitled action.

b. [_] only the following convictions or pleas for deferred entry of judgment in the above-entitled action (specify charges and date
of conviction or plea for deferred entry of judgment):

Page 1 of 2
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CR-181

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA v. DEFENDANT: CASE NUMBER:

4.

10.

11.

[ ] The court DENIES the petition for dismissal under Penal Code (check all that apply)

[ 1§12034 [ ]§12034a [ ]§1203.41 [ ]§120342 [ ]§1203.43 [ | §1203.49for (check one)
a. [ ALL CONVICTIONS OR PLEAS FOR DEFERRED ENTRY OF JUDGMENT in the above-entitled action.

b. [__] only the following convictions or pleas for deferred entry of judgment in the above-entitled action (specify charges and
date of conviction or plea for deferred entry of judgment):

[__] In granting this order under the provisions of Penal Code section 1203.49, the court finds that the petitioner was a victim of
human trafficking when petitioner committed the crime.

a. The court orders (check one):
(1) [__] the relief described in section 1203.4.
(2) [ the relief described in section 1203.4, with the following exceptions (specify):

b. The Department of Justice is hereby notified that petitioner was a victim of human trafficking when petitioner committed the
crime, and notified of the relief ordered.

If this order is granted under the provisions of Penal Code section 1203.4, 1203.41, or 1203.42,

a. the petitioner is required to disclose the above conviction in response to any direct question contained in any questionnaire or
application for public office, or for licensure by any state or local agency (or, under Penal Code section 1203.41, for licensure by
a federally recognized tribe or for enrollment as a provider of in-home supportive services and "waiver personal care
services" (see Welf. & Inst. Code, §§ 12300-12318, 14132.95, 14132.952, 14132.956, 14132.97)), or for contracting with the
California State Lottery Commission; and

b. dismissal of the conviction does not automatically relieve petitioner from the requirement to register as a sex offender.
(See, e.g., Pen. Code, § 290.5.)

If this order is granted under the provisions of Penal Code section 1203.4, 1203.4a, 1203.41, 1203.42, or 1203.49, the petitioner is
released from all penalties and disabilities resulting from the offense except as provided in Penal Code sections 29800 and 29900
(formerly sections 12021 and 12021.1) and Vehicle Code section 13555. In any subsequent prosecution of the petitioner for any
other offense, the prior conviction may be pleaded and proved and shall have the same effect as if probation had not been granted
or the accusation or information dismissed. The dismissal does not permit a person to own, possess, or have in their control a
firearm if prevented by Penal Code section 29800 or 29900 (formerly sections 12021 and 12021.1). Dismissal of a conviction does
not permit a person prohibited from holding public office as a result of that conviction to hold public office.

Dismissal under Penal Code section 1203.4 or 1203.4a does not release petitioner from the terms and
conditions of any unexpired criminal protective order issued under Penal Code section 136.2(i)(1), 273.5(j),
368(/), or 646.9(k).

FOR COURT USE ONLY
In addition, as required by Penal Code section 299(f), relief under Penal Code section 17(b), 17(d)(2),
1203.4, 1203.4a, 1203.41, 1203.42, or 1203.49 does not release petitioner from the separate administrative
duty to provide specimens, samples, or print impressions under the DNA and Forensic Identification
Database and Data Bank Act (Pen. Code, § 295 et seq.) if petitioner was found guilty by a trier of fact, not
guilty by reason of insanity, or pled no contest to a qualifying offense as defined in Penal Code section
296(a).

The basis for an order of dismissal granted under the provisions of Penal Code section 1203.43 is the
invalidity of petitioner's prior plea due to misinformation in former Penal Code section 1000.4 regarding the
actual consequences of making a plea and successful completion of a deferred entry of judgment program.

Notice: Except as provided in Penal Code section 1203.425(a)(4), if this order is granted under Penal Code section 1203.4, 1203.4a,
1203.41, or 1203.42, the court must not disclose information concerning a conviction granted relief to any person or entity, in any
format, except to the person whose conviction was granted relief or to a criminal justice agency.

Date: ’

(JUDICIAL OFFICER)

CR-181 [Rev. January 1, 2024] ORDER FOR DISMISSAL Page 2 of 2



NAME :

NAME OF COURT:
STREET ADDRESS:
MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:
BRANCH NAME:

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
VS.

DEFENDANT:

FOR COURT USE ONLY

DEFENDANT'S STATEMENT OF ASSETS /
FINANCIAL EVALUATION (PC 1203.4)

CASE NUMBER:

It is a misdemeanor to make any willful misstatement of material fact in completing this form (Pen. Code, § 1202.4(f)(4).)

a.
b.

(Attach additional sheets if the space provided below for any item is not sufficient.)
PERSONAL INFORMATION

Defendant’s name: C.
Date of birth: d.

DEFENDANT’'S PRESENT EMPLOYMENT

a.

~0ooo0oC

Occupation:

Telephone number:
Drivers license number:

Name of employer:

Address:

Gross pay per: Month $ Week $
Take-home pay per month: $
Checking, saving and credit union accounts (list banks):

Day $

1) $
2) $
3) $

OTHER MONTHLY INCOME

a.

@ o000

IF NOT WORKING, STATE THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF LAST EMPLOYER AND LAST DATE OF EMMPLOYMENT

a.
b.
c.

Unemployment and/or disability:

Social Security:

Welfare, TANF:

Child Support Payments:

Spousal Support Payments:

$
$
$
Worker's Compensation: $
$
$
$

All other income not else where listed:

Name :
Address:
Last date of employment:

SPOUSE’'S MONTHLY EMPLOYMENT

a.

~®oo0cC

Local Court Form

Occupation:

Name of employer:

Address:

Gross pay per: Month $ Week $
Take-home pay per month: $
Checking, saving and credit union accounts (list banks):

Day $

1) $
2) $
3) $

CR-506 Rev 7/16/12




OTHER MONTHLY INCOME

a. Unemployment and/or disability: $
b. Social Security: $
c. Welfare, TANF: $
d. Worker's Compensation: $
e. Child Support Payments: $
f.  Spousal Support Payments: $
g. All other income not else where listed: $
EXPENSES
a. Rentor house payment: $
b. Car payments: $
c. Transportation payments: $
d. Loan payments: $
e. Clothing and laundry: $
f.  Food $
g. Support payments: $
h. Insurance payments: $__
i.  Other payments (utilities, taxes): $
ASSETS

Please state value of any assets you own
(ie: cash, cars, income tax refund due, life insurance, other personal property)

Items:

@ B B BH B

TOTAL: $

Declaration of Defendant

| declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

(Signature of Defendant)

Local Court Form
CR-506 Rev 7/16/12



MC-031

PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER:
DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT:

CASE NUMBER:

(This form must be attached to another form or court paper before it can be filed in court.)

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

DECLARATION

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

] Attorney for ] Plaintifft [ Petitioner

(SIGNATURE OF DECLARANT)

] Respondent (] other (Specify):

] Defendant

Form Approved for Optional Use
Judicial Council of California
MC-031 [Rev. July 1, 2005]

ATTACHED DECLARATION
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