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MC-300e&s Rev. 1/24/18 

Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa 

 

Interpreter Request 

 

If you need an interpreter, please complete the form below and submit it to any Filing Window or 
courtroom.   

Case Number: ____________________________  

Case Type: 

 Criminal  Small Claims – ($10,000 or less) 

 Traffic  Civil -  $25,000   over $25,000 

 Civil Harassment  Civil – Other __________________ 

 Conservatorship  Family Law 

 Proceedings to terminate parental rights  Unlawful Detainer 

 Dependent Adult Abuse  Guardianship 

 Juvenile  Elder Abuse 

Party Requesting Interpreter: _____________________________________________________  

Is interpreter for a witness?     Yes    No 

Phone Number(s) where party can be reached: ______________________________________  

Date of Hearing:  __________________________  Time of Hearing: ________________  

Department: _________  Location:   Martinez    Pittsburg    Richmond    Walnut Creek 

Language Needed:  Spanish     Mandarin     Cantonese     Vietnamese 

  Other: _______________________________________  

 

To avoid the risk that your hearing will have to be postponed, please submit this form a 
minimum of one week in advance.   

 

Current information about this program is available at our website:   
www.cc-courts.org/interpreter 

 



MC-300e&s Rev. 1/24/18 

Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa 

 

Solicitud Para Intérprete 

 

Si necesita un intérprete, favor completar este formulario y presentarlo en cualquier ventanilla 
para archivar documentos o con la secretaria  del tribunal.  

Número de Caso: __________________________  

Tipo de Caso: 

 Criminal 

 Tráfico 

 Acoso Civil 

 Conservador 

 Casos para Terminar Derechos de 
Madre o Padre 

 Abuso de Adultos Incapacitados 

 Tribual de Menores 

 Demanda Civil – ($10,000 o menos) 

 Demanda Civil -  
  $25,000   más de $25,000 

 Civil – otro tipo _________________ 

 Casos de Familia 

 Juicio de Desalojo 

 Tutela 

 Abuso de Personas Mayores 

Persona que Necesita Intérprete: _________________________________________________  

 Marque aquí si esta persona es un testigo 

Número Telefónico: ____________________________________________________________  

Fecha de la Audiencia Judicial: _____________________  Hora: ____________________  

Departmento: _________  Ciudad:   Martinez    Pittsburg    Richmond    Walnut Creek 

Idioma Solicitado:  Español    Mandarín    Cantonés    Vietnamita 

  Otro Idioma:   _________________________________  

 

Para evitar la posibilidad que su audiencia sea aplazada, favor the presentar este formulario al 
menos una semana antes de la fecha de su audiencia. 

 

Información actualizada acerca de este servicio se encuentra en nuestra página web:  
www.cc-courts.org/interpreter 
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Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.900–8.929 

Information on Appeal Procedures for Infractions 
 

 
  
 
 
This information sheet tells you about appeals in 
infraction cases. It is only meant to give you a general 
idea of the appeal process, so it does not cover 
everything you may need to know about appeals in 
infraction cases. To learn more, you should read rules 
8.900–8.929 of the California Rules of Court, which set 
out the procedures for infraction appeals. You can get 
these rules at any courthouse or county law library or 
online at www.courts.ca.gov/rules. 
 
 
 
Infractions are crimes that can be punished by a fine, 
traffic school, or some form of community service but 
not by time in jail or prison. (See Penal Code sections 
17, 19.6, and 19.8. You can get a copy of these laws at 
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml.) 
Examples of infractions are many traffic violations for 
which you can get a ticket or violations of some city or 
county ordinances for which you can get a citation. If 
you were also charged with or convicted of a 
misdemeanor, then your case is a misdemeanor case, not 
an infraction case. 
 
 
 
An appeal is a request to a higher court to review a 
ruling or decision made by a lower court. In an 
infraction case, the court hearing the appeal is the 
appellate division of the superior court, and the lower 
court—called the “trial court” in this information 
sheet—is the superior court. 

It is important to understand that an appeal is NOT a 
new trial. The appellate division will not consider new 
evidence, such as the testimony of new witnesses or new 
exhibits. The appellate division’s job is to review a 
record of what happened in the trial court and the trial 
court’s decision to see if certain kinds of legal errors 
were made in the case: 

• Prejudicial error: The party that appeals (called the 
“appellant”) may ask the appellate division to 
determine if an error was made about either the law 
or court procedures in the case that caused 
substantial harm to the appellant (this is called 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 “prejudicial error”). Prejudicial error can include 
things like errors made by the judge about the law or 
errors or misconduct by the lawyers that harmed the 
appellant. When it conducts its review, the appellate 
division presumes that the judgment, order, or other 
decision being appealed is correct. It is the 
responsibility of the appellant to show the appellate 
division that an error was made and that the error 
was harmful. 

 
• No substantial evidence: The appellant may also ask 

the appellate division to determine if there was 
substantial evidence supporting the judgment, order, 
or other decision being appealed. When it conducts 
its review, the appellate division only looks to see if 
there was evidence that reasonably supports the 
decision. The appellate division generally will not 
reconsider the trial court’s conclusion about which 
side had more or stronger evidence or whether 
witnesses were telling the truth or lying. 

 
The appellate division generally will not overturn the 
judgment, order, or other decision being appealed 
unless the record clearly shows that one of these legal 
errors was made. 
 
  
 
You do not have to have a lawyer; you are allowed to 
represent yourself in an appeal in an infraction case. But 
appeals can be complicated, and you will have to follow 
the same rules that lawyers have to follow. If you have 
any questions about the appeal procedures, you should 
talk to a lawyer. You will need to hire a lawyer yourself 
if you want one. You can get information about finding a 
lawyer on the California Courts Online Self-Help Center 
at www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-lowcosthelp.htm. 

What does this information sheet 
cover? 

What is an infraction? 
 

What is an appeal? 
 

Do I need a lawyer to appeal? 
 

1 

2 

3 

4 

For information about appeal procedures in other 
cases, see: 

• Information on Appeal Procedures for 
Misdemeanors (form CR-131-INFO) 

 
• Information on Appeal Procedures for Limited 

Civil Cases (form APP-101-INFO) 
 
You can get these forms at any courthouse or county 
law library or online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms. 

 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/forms
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If you are representing yourself, you must put your 
address, telephone number, fax number (if available), 
and e-mail address (if available) on the cover of every 
document you file with the court and let the court know 
if this contact information changes so that the court can 
contact you if needed. 
 
 
 
Only a party in the trial court case can appeal a decision 
in that case. You may not appeal on behalf of a friend, a 
spouse, a child, or another relative. 

The party that is appealing is called the APPELLANT; 
in an infraction case, this is usually the party convicted 
of committing the infraction. The other party is called 
the RESPONDENT; in an infraction case, this is usually 
the government agency that filed the criminal charges 
(on court papers, this party is called the People of the 
State of California). 
 
 
 
 
No. Generally, you may appeal only a final judgment of 
the trial court—the decision at the end that decides the 
whole case. The final judgment includes the punishment 
that the court imposed. Other rulings made by the trial 
court before final judgment cannot be separately 
appealed, but can be reviewed only later as part of an 
appeal of the final judgment. In an infraction case, the 
party that was convicted of committing an infraction 
usually appeals that conviction or the sentence (the fine 
or other punishment) ordered by the trial court. In an 
infraction case, a party can also appeal from an order 
made by the trial court after judgment that affects a 
substantial right of the appellant (Penal Code section 
1466(2)(B). You can get a copy of this law at 
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml.) 
 
 
 
First, you must file a notice of appeal. The notice of 
appeal tells the other party in the case and the trial court 
that you are appealing the trial court’s decision. You 
may use Notice of Appeal and Record on Appeal 
(Infraction) (form CR-142) to prepare and file a notice 
of appeal in an infraction case. You can get  

 

 
form CR-142 at any courthouse or county law library or 
online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms.htm. 

 
 

 
 
Yes. In an infraction case, you must file your notice of 
appeal within 30 days after the trial court makes 
(“renders”) its judgment in your case or issues the order 
you are appealing. The date the trial court makes its 
judgment is normally the date the trial court orders you 
to pay a fine or orders other punishment in your case 
(sentences you). This deadline for filing the notice of 
appeal cannot be extended. If your notice of appeal is 
late, the appellate division will not be able to consider 
your appeal. 
 
 
  
To file the notice of appeal in an infraction case, you 
must bring or mail the original notice of appeal to the 
clerk of the trial court in which you were convicted of 
the infraction. It is a good idea to bring or mail an extra 
copy to the clerk and ask the clerk to stamp it to show 
that the original has been filed. 

There is no fee for filing the notice of appeal in an 
infraction case. You can ask the clerk of that court if 
there are any other requirements for filing your notice of 
appeal. 

After you file your notice of appeal, the clerk will send a 
copy of your notice to the office of the prosecuting 
attorney (for example, the district attorney, county 
counsel, city attorney, or state Attorney General). 
 
  
 
 
 
Filing the notice of appeal does NOT automatically 
postpone the deadline for paying your fine or 
completing any other part of your sentence. To 
postpone your sentence, you must ask the trial court for 
a “stay” of the judgment. If you want a stay, you must 
first ask the trial court for a stay. You can also apply to 
the appellate division for a stay, but you must show in 
your application to the appellate division that you first 
asked the trial court for a stay and that the trial court  

Who can appeal? 

Can I appeal any decision that the trial 
court made? 
 

How do I start my appeal? 
 

Is there a deadline for filing my notice 
of appeal? 

How do I file my notice of appeal? 
 

If I file a notice of appeal, do I still have 
to pay my fine or complete other parts 
of my punishment? 
 

5 

6 

7 

9 

10 
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unjustifiably denied your request. Your fine or other 
parts of your punishment will not be postponed unless 
the trial court or appellate division grants a stay. If you 
do not get a stay and you do not pay your fine or satisfy 
another part of your sentence by the date ordered by the 
court, a warrant may be issued for your arrest or a civil 
collections process may be started against you, which 
could result in a civil penalty being added to your fine. 
 
 
 
 
Yes. When you file your notice of appeal, you must tell 
the trial court (1) whether you have agreed with the 
respondent (“stipulated”) that you do not need parts of 
the normal record on appeal, and (2) whether you want a 
record of what was said in the trial court (this is called a 
record of the “oral proceedings”) sent to the appellate 
division and, if so, what form of that record you want to 
use. Notice of Appeal and Record on Appeal (Infraction) 
(form CR-142) includes boxes you can check to tell the 
court whether and how you want to provide this record. 
 
  
 
 
 
You do not have to send the appellate division a record 
of what was said in the trial court. But if you want to 
raise any issue in your appeal that would require the 
appellate division to consider what was said in the trial 
court, the appellate division will need a record of these 
oral proceedings. For example, if you are claiming that 
there was not substantial evidence supporting the 
judgment, order, or other decision you are appealing, the 
appellate division will need a record of the oral 
proceedings. Since the appellate division judges were 
not there for the proceedings in the trial court, an official 
record of these proceedings must be prepared and sent to 
the appellate court for its review. 

Depending on what form of the record you choose to 
use, you will be responsible for paying to have the 
official record of the oral proceedings prepared (unless 
you are indigent) or for preparing an initial draft of the 
record yourself. If you do not take care of these 
responsibilities, a record of the oral proceedings in the 
trial court will not be prepared and sent to the appellate 
division. If the appellate division does not receive the  

 
record, it will not be able to consider what was said in 
the trial court in deciding whether a legal error was made 
and it may dismiss your appeal. 

 
 
 
There are three ways a record of the oral proceedings in 
a trial court can be prepared and provided to the 
appellate division in an infraction case: 

a. You can use a statement on appeal. 

b. If the proceedings were officially electronically 
recorded, the trial court can have a transcript 
prepared from the recording or, if the court has a 
local rule permitting this and all the parties agree 
(“stipulate”), you can use the official electronic 
recording itself as the record, instead of a transcript. 

c. If a court reporter was there during the trial court 
proceedings, the reporter can prepare a record called 
a “reporter’s transcript.” 

Read below for more information about these options. 

a. Statement on appeal 
Description: A statement on appeal is a summary of 
the trial court proceedings approved by the trial 
court judge who conducted the trial court 
proceedings (the term “judge” includes 
commissioners and temporary judges).  

When available: If the trial court proceedings were 
not recorded either by a court reporter or by official 
electronic recording equipment or if you do not want 
to use either of these forms of the record, you can 
choose (“elect”) to use a statement on appeal as the 
record of the oral proceedings in the trial court 
(please note that it may take more of your time to 
prepare a statement on appeal than to use either a 
reporter’s transcript or electronic recording, if they 
are available). 

Contents: A statement on appeal must include:   

• A statement of the points you (the appellant) are 
raising on appeal;  

• A summary of the trial court’s rulings and 
judgment; and 

 
 

In what cases does the appellate 
division need a record of the oral 
proceedings? 
 

12 

Is there anything else I need to do 
when I file my notice of appeal? 
 

11 

What are the different forms of the 
record? 
 

13 
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• A summary of the testimony of each witness and 
other evidence that is relevant to the issues you 
are raising on appeal.  

(See rule 8.916 of the California Rules of Court for 
more information about what must be included in a 
statement on appeal and the procedures for preparing 
a statement. You can get a copy of this rule at any 
courthouse or county law library or online at 
www.courts.ca.gov/rules.) 

Preparing a proposed statement: If you choose to 
use a statement on appeal, you must prepare a 
proposed statement. If you are not represented by a 
lawyer, you must use Proposed Statement on Appeal 
(Infraction) (form CR-143) to prepare your proposed 
statement. You can get form CR-143 at any 
courthouse or county law library or online at 
www.courts.ca.gov/forms. 

Serving and filing a proposed statement: You must 
serve and file your proposed statement within 20 
days after you file your notice of appeal. “Serve and 
file” means that you must:  

• Have somebody over 18 years old mail, deliver, 
or electronically send (“serve”) the proposed 
statement to the prosecuting attorney and any 
other party in the way required by law. If the 
proposed statement is mailed or personally 
delivered, it must be by someone who is not a 
party to the case—so not you. If the prosecuting 
attorney did not appear in your case, you do not 
need to serve the prosecuting attorney. 

• Make a record that the proposed statement has 
been served. This record is called a “proof of 
service.” Proof of Service (Appellate Division) 
(form APP-109) or Proof of Electronic Service 
(Appellate Division) (form APP-109E) can be 
used to make this record. The proof of service 
must show who served the proposed statement, 
who was served with the proposed statement, 
how the proposed statement was served (by 
mail, in person, or electronically), and the date 
the proposed statement was served.  

• File the original proposed statement and the 
proof of service with the trial court. You should 
make a copy of the proposed statement you are 
planning to file for your own records before you 
file it with the court. It is a good idea to bring or 
mail an extra copy of the proposed statement to 
the clerk when you file your original and ask the 

clerk to stamp this copy to show that the original 
has been filed. 

You can get more information about how to serve 
court papers and proof of service from What Is Proof 
of Service? (form APP-109-INFO) and on the 
California Courts Online Self-Help Center at 
www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-serving.htm. 

Review and modifications: The prosecuting attorney 
and any other party have 10 days from the date you 
serve your proposed statement to serve and file 
proposed changes (called “amendments”) to this 
statement. The trial judge then reviews both your 
proposed statement and any proposed amendments 
filed by the prosecuting attorney and any other party. 
The judge will then make or order you to make any 
corrections or modifications to the proposed 
statement that are needed to make sure that the 
statement provides a complete and accurate 
summary of the relevant testimony and other 
evidence. 

Completion and certification: If the judge makes or 
orders you to make any corrections or modifications 
to the proposed statement, the corrected or modified 
statement will be sent to you, the prosecuting 
attorney, and any other party for your review. If you 
disagree with anything in the judge’s statement, you 
will have 10 days from the date the statement is sent 
to you to serve and file objections to the statement. 
The judge then reviews any objections, makes any 
additional corrections to the statement, and certifies 
the statement as a complete and accurate summary 
of the relevant testimony and other evidence. 

Sending the statement to the appellate division: 
Once the trial judge certifies the statement on 
appeal, the trial court clerk will send the statement to 
the appellate division along with the clerk’s 
transcript. 

b. Official electronic recording or transcript 
from official recording 
When available: In some infraction cases, the trial 
court proceedings are officially recorded on 
approved electronic recording equipment. If your 
case was officially recorded, you can ask to have a 
transcript prepared for the appellate division from 
the official electronic recording of the proceedings. 
You should check with the trial court to see if your 
case was officially electronically recorded before 
you choose this option. Some courts also have local  
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rules that establish procedures for deciding whether 
a statement on appeal or a transcript of only some of 
the oral proceedings will be a good enough record to 
consider the issues you are raising on appeal. You 
should check whether the court has such a local rule. 

If the court has a local rule for the appellate division 
permitting this and all the parties agree (“stipulate”), 
a copy of the official electronic recording itself can 
be used as the record of these oral proceedings 
instead of preparing a transcript. You should check 
with the trial court to see if your case was officially 
electronically recorded and check to make sure that 
there is a local rule permitting the use of the 
recording itself before choosing this option. If you 
choose this option, you must attach a copy of your 
agreement with the other parties (called a 
“stipulation”) to your notice regarding the oral 
proceedings.  

Cost: Ordinarily, the appellant must pay for 
preparing the transcript or making a copy of the 
official electronic recording. The court will send you 
an estimate of the cost for this transcript or the copy 
of the electronic recording. If you still want this 
transcript or recording, you must deposit this amount 
with the court. However, you can also choose to use 
a statement on appeal instead, or take one of the 
other actions listed in rule 8.917.  

If, however, you are indigent (you cannot afford to 
pay the cost of the transcript or electronic 
recording), you may be able to get a free transcript 
or official electronic recording. You can complete 
and file Defendant’s Financial Statement on 
Eligibility for Appointment of Counsel and 
Reimbursement and Record on Appeal at Public 
Expense (form CR-105) to show that you are 
indigent. You can get form CR-105 at any 
courthouse or county law library or online at 
www.courts.ca.gov/forms. The court will review this 
form to decide whether you are indigent. 

If you are indigent, an official electronic recording 
of your case was made, and you show that you need 
a transcript, the court must provide you with a free 
transcript. Whether you need a transcript depends on 
the issues you are raising on appeal. If the issues you 
are raising on appeal include that there was not 
substantial evidence supporting the judgment, order, 
or other decision you are appealing or that there was  
 

 

misconduct in your case that harmed you, that is 
generally enough to show that you need a transcript. 
If you ask for a transcript, the court may ask you 
what issues you are raising on appeal and may 
decide that a statement on appeal or a transcript of 
only some of the oral proceedings will be a good 
enough record to consider the issues you are raising. 

If the court finds that you are not indigent, it will 
send you a notice and you will have a chance to use 
a statement on appeal instead or take one of the other 
actions listed in rule 8.917. 

Completion and delivery: Once you deposit the 
estimated cost of the transcript or official electronic 
recording with the clerk or show the court you are 
indigent and need a transcript, the clerk will have the 
transcript or copy of the recording prepared. When 
the transcript is completed or the copy of the official 
electronic recording is prepared, the clerk will send 
the transcript or recording to the appellate division 
along with the clerk’s transcript. 

c. Reporter’s transcript 
When available: In some infraction cases, a court 
reporter is there in the trial court and makes a record 
of the oral proceedings. If a court reporter made a 
record of your case, you can ask to have the court 
reporter prepare a transcript of those oral 
proceedings, called a “reporter’s transcript.” You 
should check with the trial court to see if a court 
reporter made a record of your case before you 
choose this option. Some courts also have local rules 
that establish procedures for deciding whether a 
statement on appeal or a transcript of only some of 
the oral proceedings will be a good enough record to 
consider the issues you are raising on appeal. You 
should check whether the court has such a local rule. 

Cost: Ordinarily, the appellant must pay for 
preparing a reporter’s transcript. The court reporter 
will provide the clerk of the trial court with an 
estimate of the cost of preparing the transcript, and 
the clerk will notify you of this estimate. If you want 
the reporter to prepare a transcript, you must deposit 
this estimated amount or one of the substitutes 
allowed under rule 8.919 with the clerk within 10 
days after the clerk sends you the estimate. 
However, under rule 8.919 you can decide to use a 
different form of the record or take other action 
instead of proceeding with a reporter’s transcript. 
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If, however, you are indigent (you cannot afford to 
pay the cost of the reporter’s transcript), you may be 
able to get a free transcript. You can complete and 
file Defendant’s Financial Statement on Eligibility 
for Appointment of Counsel and Reimbursement and 
Record on Appeal at Public Expense (form CR-105) 
to show that you are indigent. You can get form CR-
105 at any courthouse or county law library or 
online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms. The court will 
review this form to decide whether you are indigent. 

If the court finds that you are indigent, a court 
reporter made a record of your case, and you show 
that you need a transcript, the court must provide 
you with a free transcript. Whether you need a 
transcript depends on the issues you are raising on 
appeal. If the issues you are raising on appeal 
include that there was not substantial evidence 
supporting the judgment, order, or other decision 
you are appealing or that there was misconduct in 
your case that harmed you, that is generally enough 
to show that you need a transcript. If you ask for a 
reporter’s transcript, the court may ask you what 
issues you are raising on appeal and may decide that 
a statement on appeal or a transcript of only some of 
the oral proceedings will be a good enough record to 
consider the issues you are raising. 

If the court finds that you are not indigent, it will 
send you a notice and you will have a chance to pick 
another form of the record or take other actions 
listed in rule 8.919. 

Completion and delivery: Once you deposit the 
estimated cost of the transcript or one of the 
substitutes allowed under rule 8.919 or show the 
court you are indigent and need a transcript, the 
clerk will notify the reporter to prepare the 
transcript. When the reporter completes the 
transcript, the clerk will send both the reporter’s 
transcript and clerk’s transcript to the appellate 
division. 

 
 
 
 
 
Yes. There are two other parts of the official record that 
need to be sent to the appellate division: 

 

 
• Documents filed in the trial court: The trial court 

clerk is responsible for preparing a record of the 
written documents filed in your case, called a 
“clerk’s transcript,” and sending this to the appellate 
division. (The documents the clerk must include in 
this transcript are listed in rule 8.912 of the 
California Rules of Court. You can get a copy of this 
rule at any courthouse or county law library or 
online at www.courts.ca.gov/rules.) 

• Exhibits submitted during trial: Exhibits, such as 
photographs or maps, that were admitted in 
evidence, refused, or lodged (temporarily placed 
with the court) in the trial court are considered part 
of the record on appeal. If you want the appellate 
division to consider an exhibit, however, you must 
ask the trial court clerk to send the original exhibit to 
the appellate division within 10 days after the last 
respondent’s brief is filed in the appellate division. 
(See rule 8.921 of the California Rules of Court for 
more information about this procedure. You can get 
a copy of this rule at any courthouse or county law 
library or online at www.courts.ca.gov/rules.) 

Sometimes, the trial court returns an exhibit to a 
party at the end of the trial. If the trial court returned 
an exhibit to you or another party and you or the 
other party ask for the exhibit to be sent to the 
appellate division, the party who has the exhibit 
must deliver that exhibit to the appellate division as 
soon as possible. 

 
 
 
 
As soon as the record of the oral proceeding is ready, the 
clerk of the trial court will send it to the appellate 
division along with the clerk’s transcript. When the 
appellate division receives this record, it will send you a 
notice telling you when you must file your brief in the 
appellate division. 
 
 
 
A brief is a party’s written description of the facts in the 
case, the law that applies, and the party’s argument about 
the issues being appealed. If you are represented by a 
lawyer in your appeal, your lawyer will prepare your 
brief. If you are not represented by a lawyer in your 
appeal, you will have to prepare your brief yourself. You  

Is there any other part of the record 
that needs to be sent to the appellate 
division? 
 

14 

What happens after the record is 
prepared? 
 

15 

What is a brief? 
 

16 
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should read rules 8.927–8.928 of the California Rules of 
Court, which set out the requirements for preparing, 
serving, and filing briefs in infraction appeals, including 
requirements for the format and length of these briefs. 
You can get these rules at any courthouse or county law 
library or online at www.courts.ca.gov/rules. 

Contents: If you are the appellant (the party who is 
appealing), your brief, called the “appellant’s opening 
brief,” must clearly explain what you believe are the 
legal errors made in the trial court. Your brief must refer 
to the exact places in the clerk’s transcript and the 
statement on appeal (or other record of the oral 
proceedings) that support your argument. Remember 
that an appeal is not a new trial. The appellate division 
will not consider new evidence, such as the testimony of 
new witnesses or new exhibits, so do not include any 
new evidence in your brief. 

Serving and filing: You must serve and file your brief in 
the appellate division by the deadline the court set in the 
notice it sent you, which is usually 30 days after the 
record is filed in the appellate division. If you do not 
file your brief by the deadline set by the appellate 
division, the court may dismiss your appeal. 

“Serve and file” means that you must:  

• Have somebody over 18 years old mail, deliver, or 
electronically send (“serve”) the brief to the 
respondent (the prosecuting agency) and any other 
party in the way required by law. If the brief is 
mailed or personally delivered, it must be by 
someone who is not a party to the case—so not you. 

• Make a record that the brief has been served. This 
record is called a “proof of service.” Proof of Service 
(Appellate Division) (form APP-109) or Proof of 
Electronic Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-
109E) can be used to make this record. The proof of 
service must show who served the brief, who was 
served with the brief, how the brief was served (by 
mail, in person, or electronically), and the date the 
brief was served.  

• File the original brief and the proof of service with 
the appellate division. You should make a copy of 
the brief you are planning to file for your own 
records before you file it with the court. It is a good 
idea to bring or mail an extra copy of the brief to the 
clerk when you file your original and ask the clerk to 
stamp this copy to show that the original has been 
filed. 

 
You can get more information about how to serve court 
papers and proof of service from What Is Proof of 
Service? (form APP-109-INFO) and at 
www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-serving.htm.  

 
  
 
Within 30 days after you serve and file your brief, the 
respondent (the prosecuting agency) may, but is not 
required to, respond by serving and filing a respondent’s 
brief. If the respondent does not file a brief, the appellant 
does not automatically win the appeal. The court will 
decide the appeal on the record, the appellant’s brief, and 
any oral argument by the appellant.  

If the respondent serves and files a brief, within 20 days 
after the respondent’s brief was served, you may, but are 
not required to, serve and file another brief replying to 
the respondent’s brief. This is called a “reply brief.” 

 
 
 
 
Once all the briefs have been served and filed or the time 
to serve and file them has passed, the court will notify 
you of the date for oral argument in your case. 
 
 
 
“Oral argument” is the parties’ chance to explain their 
arguments to the appellate division judges in person.   

You do not have to participate in oral argument, if you 
do not want to; you can notify the appellate division that 
you want to “waive” oral argument. If all parties waive 
oral argument, the judges will decide your appeal based 
on the briefs and the record that were submitted. But if 
one party waives oral argument and another party or 
parties does not, the appellate division will hold oral 
argument with the party or parties who did not waive it.  

If you do choose to participate in oral argument, you will 
have up to five minutes for your argument, unless the 
court orders otherwise. Remember that the judges will 
already have read the briefs, so you do not need to read 
your brief to the judges. It is more helpful to tell the 
judges what you think is most important in your appeal 
 
 

What happens after I file my brief? 
 

17 

What is oral argument? 
 

19 

What happens after all the briefs have 
been filed? 
 

18 
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or ask the judges if they have any questions you could 
answer. 
 
 
 
After oral argument is held (or the date it was scheduled 
passes if all the parties waive oral argument), the judges 
of the appellate division will make a decision about your 
appeal. The appellate division has 90 days after the date 
scheduled for oral argument to decide the appeal. The 
clerk of the court will mail you a notice of that decision. 
 
  
 
 
If you decide you do not want to continue with your 
appeal, you must file a written document with the 
appellate division notifying it that you are giving up (this 
is called “abandoning”) your appeal. You can use 
Abandonment of Appeal (Infraction) (form CR-145) to 
file this notice in an infraction case. You can get form 
CR-145 at any courthouse or county law library or 
online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms.  

If you decide not to continue your appeal and it is 
dismissed, you will (with only very rare exceptions) 
permanently give up the chance to raise any objections 
to your conviction, sentence, or other matter that you 
could have raised in the appeal. If your punishment was 
stayed during the appeal, you may be required to start 
complying with your punishment immediately after your 
appeal is dismissed. 
 

What happens after oral argument? 
 

20 

What should I do if I want to give up 
my appeal? 
 

21 



Instructions

Before you fill out this form, read Information on Appeal Procedures for  
Infractions (form CR-141-INFO) to know your rights and  responsibilities. 
You can get form CR-141-INFO at any courthouse or county law library or 
online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms.

•

This form is only for appealing in an infraction case, such as a case about a 
traffic ticket. You can get other forms for appealing in a civil or 
misdemeanor case at any courthouse or county law library or online at www.
courts.ca.gov/forms.

•

You must file this form no later than 30 days after the trial court issued 
the judgment or order you are appealing (see rule 8.902(b) of the 
California Rules of Court for very limited exceptions). If your notice of 
appeal is late, the court will not take your appeal.

•

Fill out this form and make a copy of the completed form for your records.•

• Take or mail the completed form to the clerk’s office for the same trial court 
that issued the judgment or order you are appealing. It is a good idea to take 
or mail an extra copy to the clerk and ask the clerk to stamp it to show that 
the original has been filed.

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Superior Court of California, County of

You fill in the number and name of the trial court  
case in which you are appealing the judgment or  
order:
Trial Court Case Number:

You fill in the name and street address of the court 
that issued the judgment or order you are  
appealing:

The clerk will fill in the number below:

Appellate Division Case Number:

Trial Court Case Name:

CR-142 Notice of Appeal and Record on 
Appeal (Infraction) 

Your Information

Phone: E-mail:

Mailing address (if different): 

Name of appellant (the party who is filing this appeal):               a.

State Bar number:Name:

Appellant’s lawyer in the trial court proceedings:c.

Name:

City State
Street address: 

Street Zip

Street City State Zip

Phone: 

Mailing address (if different): 
City State

Street address: 
Street Zip

Street City State

Fax:

Zip

1

E-mail:

The lawyer filling out this form 

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
Revised January 1, 2020, Optional Form 
Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.831, 8.901, 8.910

Notice of Appeal and Record on Appeal 
(Infraction) 

CR-142, Page 1 of 4

is notis representing the appellant in this appeal.

Appellant’s contact information (required):                       b.



Judgment or Order You Are Appealing 2

CR-142, Page 2 of 4 Notice of Appeal and Record on Appeal 
(Infraction) 

Revised January 1, 2020

Record of Oral Proceedings 

I elect (choose)/My client elects to proceed (check a or b): 
a.

You do not have to provide the appellate division with a record of what was said in the trial court (this is called a record  
of the “oral proceedings”). But, if you do not, the appellate division will not be able to consider what was said during the  
trial court proceedings in deciding whether an error was made in those proceedings.

(Write initials here):

4

3

(Write initials here):

b.

The respondent and I/my client have agreed (“stipulated”) under rule 8.910 that parts of the normal record on 
appeal are not required for proper determination of this appeal. A copy of our stipulation identifying those parts 
of the record that are not required is attached. (At the top of each page write “CR-142, item 3.”)

Stipulation for Limited Record

I am/My client is appealing (check a, b, or c): 

a.
The trial court issued (rendered) this judgment on (fill in the date):

b.

The trial court issued (rendered) this order on (fill in the date):

the final judgment of conviction in the case (Pen. Code, § 1466(b)(1)).

an order made by the trial court after judgment that affects an important (substantial) right of mine/my client 
(Pen. Code, § 1466(b)(2)).

Other (describe the action you are appealing and indicate the date the trial court took the action): c.

I want to use the following record of what was said in the trial court proceedings in my case (check and complete 
only one     a, b, c, or d):

5

Statement on Appeal. A statement on appeal is a summary of the trial court proceedings approved by the 
trial court. See form CR-141-INFO for information about preparing a proposed statement. (Check and 
complete (1) or (2).)

a.

Your Choices About the Record on Appeal

Trial Court Case Name: 

Trial Court Case Number:

—

WITHOUT a record of the oral proceedings in the trial court (skip item      

WITH a record of the oral proceedings in the trial court (complete item      

5

5

understand that if I proceed without a record of the oral proceedings, the appellate division will not be able to 
consider what was said in the trial court during those proceedings in deciding whether a legal error was made.

; sign and date this form). I

below). I understand that if I elect
(choose) to proceed WITH a record of the oral proceeding in the trial court, I have to choose the record I 
want to use and take the actions described below to make sure this record is provided to the appellate 
division. I understand that if I do not take the actions described below and the appellate division does not 
receive this record, I am not likely to succeed in my appeal.



OR
Transcript From Official Electronic Recording. This option is available only if an official electronic 
recording was made of what was said in the trial court. Check with the trial court to see if an official 
electronic recording was made in your case before choosing this option. Some courts also have local rules 
that establish procedures for determining whether only a portion of a transcript or a different form of the 
record will be sufficient for an effective appeal. Check with the trial court to see if it has such a local rule. 
(Check and complete (1) or (2).)

b.

(1) I will pay the trial court clerk’s office for this transcript myself. I understand that if I do not pay for this 
transcript, it will not be prepared and provided to the appellate division.

I am asking that this transcript be provided at no cost to me because I cannot afford to pay this cost. I 
have completed and attached Defendant’s Financial Statement on Eligibility for Appointment of Counsel 
and Reimbursement and Record on Appeal at Public Expense (form CR-105). (You can get form CR-105 
at any courthouse or county law library or online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms. The court will review 
this form to decide if you are eligible for a free transcript.)

(2)

OR

CR-142, Page 3 of 4Notice of Appeal and Record on Appeal 
(Infraction) 

Revised January 1, 2020

I have attached my proposed statement on appeal to this notice. (If you are not represented by a lawyer 
in this appeal, you must use Proposed Statement on Appeal (Infraction) (form CR-143) to prepare and 
file this proposed statement. You can get form CR-143 at any courthouse or county law library or online 
at www.courts.ca.gov/forms.)

I have NOT attached my proposed statement on appeal to this notice. I understand that I must serve the 
prosecuting attorney if the prosecuting attorney appeared in the case and file this proposed statement in 
the trial court within 20 days of the date I file this notice and that if I do not file the proposed statement 
on time, the court may proceed on the clerk’s transcript only.

(1)

(2)

(continued)5

Copy of Official Electronic Recording. This option is available only if an official electronic recording was 
made of what was said in the trial court, the court has a local rule for the appellate division permitting the 
use of the official electronic recording itself as the record of the court proceedings, and you and the 
respondent (the prosecuting agency) have agreed (stipulated) that you want to use the recording itself as the 
record of what was said in your case. Check with the trial court to see if an official electronic recording was 
made in your case before choosing this option. You must attach a copy of your agreement (stipulation) with 
the respondent to this notice. (Check and complete (1) or (2).) 

c.

(1) I will pay the trial court clerk’s office for this official electronic recording myself. I understand that if I 
do not pay for this recording, it will not be provided to the appellate division.

I am asking that this official electronic recording be provided at no cost to me because I cannot afford to 
pay this cost. I have completed and attached Defendant’s Financial Statement on Eligibility for 
Appointment of Counsel and Reimbursement and Record on Appeal at Public Expense (form CR-105). 
(You can get form CR-105 at any courthouse or county law library or online at www.courts.ca.gov 
/forms. The court will review this form to decide if you are eligible for a free copy of the official 
electronic recording.)

(2)

Trial Court Case Name: 

Trial Court Case Number:



Date:

Type or print your name

5(continued)

Signature of appellant or attorney

OR

CR-142, Page 4 of 4 Notice of Appeal and Record on Appeal 
(Infraction) 
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Reporter’s Transcript. This option is available only if there was a court reporter in the trial court who 
made a record of what was said in court. Check with the trial court to see if there was a court reporter in 
your case before choosing this option. Some courts also have local rules that establish procedures for 
determining whether only a portion of the reporter’s transcript or a different form of the record will be 
sufficient for an effective appeal. Check with the trial court to see if it has such a local rule. 

d.

File with the trial court a certified transcript of all the proceedings required by rule 
8.918.

Pay for the transcript myself by depositing with the trial court an amount equal to the 
estimated cost of the transcript.

Pay the reporter directly and file with the trial court a written waiver of the deposit 
that is signed by the reporter. 

Request a reporter’s transcript at no cost. I am asking that this transcript be provided 
at no cost to me because I cannot afford to pay this cost. I have completed and 
attached Defendant’s Financial Statement on Eligibility for Appointment of Counsel 
and Reimbursement and Record on Appeal at Public Expense (form CR-105). (You 
can get form CR-105 at any courthouse or county law library or online at  
www.courts.ca.gov/forms. The court will review this form to decide if you are 
eligible for a reporter’s transcript at no cost to you.)  

(1)

Trial Court Case Name: 

Trial Court Case Number:

(2)

(3)

(4)

I understand that if I do not pay for this transcript and I am not eligible for a reporter’s transcript at no cost, 
the reporter’s transcript will not be prepared and provided to the appellate division. 

Within 10 days of receiving the court reporter’s estimate of the cost of preparing the reporter’s transcript, I 
will (check and complete one of the following):



Take or mail the completed form and proof of service on each of the other
parties to the clerk’s office for the same trial court that issued the judgment 
or  order you are appealing. It is a good idea to take or mail an extra copy to 
the clerk and ask the clerk to stamp it to show that the original has been 
filed.

This form is only for preparing a statement on appeal in an infraction case,
such as a case about a traffic ticket.

Before you fill out this form, read Information on Appeal Procedures for 
Infractions (form CR-141-INFO) to know your rights and responsibilities. 
You can get form CR-141-INFO at any courthouse or county law library or
online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms.

Instructions

Fill out this form and make a copy of the completed form for your records
and for each of the other parties.

•

•

•

•

This form can be filed at the same time as your notice of appeal. If it is not
filed with your notice of appeal, this form must be filed no later than 20 
days after you file your notice of appeal. If you have chosen to use a 
statement on appeal and do not file this form on time, the court may 
dismiss your appeal.

•

You must serve a copy of the completed form on each of the other parties in
the case and keep proof of this service. You can get information about how 
to  serve court papers and proof of service from What Is Proof of Service?
(form  APP-109-INFO) and on the California Courts Online Self-Help 
Center at www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-serving.htm.

•

Your Information

(1) (2)

Phone: Email:

Mailing address (if different): 

Appellant (the party who is filing this appeal):a.

State Bar number:Name:

Appellant’s lawyer (skip this if the appellant is filling out this form):b.
The lawyer filling out this form (check (1) or (2)):

Name:

City State

was the appellant’s lawyer in the trial  court. is the appellant’s lawyer for this appeal.

CR-143 Proposed Statement on Appeal
(Infraction)

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Superior Court of California, County of

You fill in the number and name of the trial court
case in which you are appealing the judgment or
order:
Trial Court Case Number:

You fill in the name and street address of the court 
that issued the judgment or order you are
appealing:

You fill in the appellate division case number (if
you know it):
Appellate Division Case Number:

v.

Trial Court Case Name: 
The People of the State of California

Street address:
Street Zip

Street City State Zip

Phone:

Mailing address (if different): 
City State

Street address:
Street Zip

Street City State

Fax:

Zip

1

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
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Email:



, I/my client filed a Notice of Appeal andRecord on Appeal 
(Infraction), choosing to use a statement on appeal as the record of what was said in this case.

Rev. January 1, 2021
Proposed Statement on Appeal 

(Infraction)
CR-143,Page 2 of 7

Information About Your Appeal

On(fill in the date): 2

Reasons for Your Appeal

a.

(Check all that apply and describe the legal error or errors you believe were made that are the reason for this 
appeal.)

The appellate division:
Cannot retry your case or take new evidence.
Cannot consider whether witnesses were telling the truth or lying.
Cannot consider whether there was more or stronger evidence supporting your position than there was 
supporting the trial court’s decision.

Remember, in an appeal, the appellate division can only review a case for whether certain kinds of legal errors 
were made in the trial court proceedings (read form CR-141-INFO to learn about these legal errors):

There was not “substantial evidence” supporting the judgment, order, or other decision you are appealing.
A “prejudicial error” was made during the trial court proceedings.

3

•
•

•
•

•

b.The following error or errors about either the law or court procedure was/were made that caused substantial 
harm to me/my client. (Describe each error and how you were/your client was harmed by that error.)

(1)Describe the error: 

Describe how this error harmed you/your client: 

(2)Describe the error: 

Describe how this error harmed you/your client: 

Proposed Statement

There was not substantial evidence that supported the judgment, order, or other decision that I/my client 
indicated in the notice of appeal is being appealed in this case. (Explain why you think the judgment, order, 
or other decision was not supported by substantial evidence):

Trial Court Case Name: 
Trial Court Case Number: The People of the State of California v.



Rev. January 1, 2021 Proposed Statement on Appeal 
(Infraction)

CR-143, Page 3 of 7

(3) Describe the error: 

Describe how this error harmed you/your client: 

a.

b.

If the charges against you/your client are based on a citation (ticket) you received, provide the citation number
(fill in the citation number from your ticket):

The Charges Against Me/My Client

c. I/My client (check (1), (2), or (3))

(3)

(2)

(1) pleaded not guilty to all of the charges.

pleaded guilty to all of the charges.

4

pleaded guilty to only the following charges:

The charges against me/my client were (list all of the charges indicated on the citation or complaint filed by the 
prosecutor with the court):

3

Summary of Any Motions and the Court's Order on the Motion 
Were any motions (requests for the trial court to issue an order) made in this case that are relevant to the reasons 
you gave in       for this appeal?

a.
5

No (skip to item      )Yes (fill out b)

In the spaces below, describe any motions (requests for orders) that were made in the trial court that are 
relevant to the reasons you gave in       for this appeal. Write a complete and accurate summary of what was 
said at any hearings on these motions and indicate how the trial court ruled on these motions:

(1)

(a)

b.

a hearing on this motion.There

I/My client made the following requests (motions) in the trial court (check all that apply):

To submit a photograph or photographs as evidence (describe the photographs):

was notwas

3
6

Check here if you need more space to describe these or other errors and attach a separate page or pages 
describing the errors. At the top of each page, write “CR-143, item 3.”

3

Trial Court Case Name: 
Trial Court Case Number:The People of the State of California v.

b.



accept the photographs. The court
Check here if you need more space to describe the motion and attach a separate page or pages
describing it. At the top of each page write “CR-143, item 5b(1)(a).”

diddid not

5b.  (1)If there was a hearing on this motion, write a complete and accurate summary of what was said at this 
hearing:

Rev. January 1, 2021
Proposed Statement on Appeal 

(Infraction)
CR-143,Page 4 of 7

(b)

a hearing on this motion. Therewas not was

accept the maps. The court
Check here if you need more space to describe the motion and attach a separate page or pages
describing it. At the top of each page write “CR-143, item 5b(1)(b).”

diddid not

If there was a hearing on this motion, write a complete and accurate summary of what was said at this 
hearing:

(c)

a hearing on this motion. There

To submit other material as evidence (describe what you asked to submit as evidence):

was not was

accept this material. The court
Check here if you need more space to describe the motion and attach a separate page or pages
describing it. At the top of each page write “CR-143, item 5b(1)(c).”

diddid not

If there was a hearing on this motion, write a complete and accurate summary of what was said at this 
hearing:

(d)Other(describe any other request you made in the trial court and whether the court granted or 
denied this request):

Check here if you need more space to describe the motion and attach a separate page or pages
describing it. At the top of each page write “CR-143, item 5b(1)(d).”

To submit a map or maps as evidence (describe the maps):

Trial Court Case Name: 
Trial Court Case Number: The People of the State of California v.

(a)



Rev. January 1, 2021 Proposed Statement on Appeal 
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5 b.(2) The prosecutor made the following request (motion) in the trial court (describe any request the prosecutor
made in the trial court and whether the court granted or denied this request):

a hearing on this motion.There was was not

grant this motion.The court did did not

Other (describe any other action the trial court took on this motion):

Check here if you need more space to describe the motion and attach a separate page or pages
describing it. At the top of each page write “CR-143, item 5b(2).”

Check here if other motions were filed that are relevant to the reasons you gave in        for this appeal, and 
attach a separate page or pages describing these other motions, identifying who made them and whether 
there was a hearing on the motion, summarizing what was said at the hearing on the motion, and indicating 
whether the trial court granted or denied the motion. At the top of each page, write CR-143, item 5b(3).

3

Did you/your client testify at the trial?

(complete items b, c, d, e, and f)

(skip items b, c, d, e, and f, and go to item      )

Summary of Testimony and Other Evidence
Was there a trial in your case?a.
No

Yes

Check here if you need more space to summarize your/your client’s testimony and attach a separate page 
or pages summarizing this testimony. At the top of each page, write “CR-143, Item 6b.”

6

b.

7

No
Yes

3
       (Write a complete and accurate summary of the testimony you/your client gave that is relevant to the 
reasons you gave in       for this appeal. Include only what you actually said; do not comment on or give your 
opinion about what you said. Please indicate whether any objections were made concerning your/your 
client's testimony or any exhibits you/your client asked to present and whether these objections were 
sustained.):

If there was a hearing on this motion, write a complete and accurate summary of what was said at this 
hearing:

(3)

Trial Court Case Name: 
Trial Court Case Number:The People of the State of California v.



Did an officer from the police department, sheriff’s office, or other government agency that charged you/your
client testify at the trial? (Check one):

c.

The name of the officer who testified is (fill in the officer’s name):

Rev. January 1, 2021
Proposed Statement on Appeal 

(Infraction)
CR-143,Page 6 of 7

6

No
Yes(complete (1) and (2)):
(1)

(2)
3

Check here if you need more space to summarize the officer’s testimony and attach a separate page 
or  pages summarizing this testimony. At the top of each page, write “CR-143, Item 6c.”

d.Were there any other witnesses at the trial?
No

Yes(fill out (1)–(4)):
The witness’s name is (fill in the witness’s name): (1)

(2)

(3)

an officer from the government agency that charged me/my client. The witness

The witness testified on behalf of

waswas not

me/my clientthe prosecution.

(4)
3

This witness testified that (Write a complete and accurate summary of the witness’s testimony that is 
relevant to the reasons you gave in        for this appeal.Include only what the witness actually said; do 
not comment on or give your opinion about what thewitness said. Please indicate whether any objections 
were made concerning the witness’s testimony or any exhibits the witness asked to present and whether 
these objections were sustained.):

Check here if other witnesses gave testimony at the trial that is relevant to the reasons you gave in        for this 
appeal. Attach a separate page or pages identifying each other witness that testified at your trial, stating 
whether that witness testified on your/your client’s behalf or the prosecution’s behalf, summarizing the
witness’s testimony that is relevant to the reasons you gave in        for this appeal, and indicating whether any 
objections were made concerning the witness’s testimony or any exhibits the witness asked to present and 
whether these objections were sustained. At the top of each page, write “CR-143, item 6e.”

3

3

e.

This officer testified that (Write a complete and accurate summary of the officer’s testimony that is 
relevant to the reasons you gave in         for this appeal. Includeonly what the officer actually said; do 
not comment on or give your opinion about what the officer said. Please indicate whether any objections 
were made concerning the officer’s testimony or any exhibits the officer asked to present and whether 
these objections were sustained.):

Trial Court Case Name: 
Trial Court Case Number: The People of the State of California v.



The Trial Court's Findings
a. I/My client was found guilty of the following offenses (list all of the offenses for which you were/your client was 

found guilty):

Rev. January 1, 2021 Proposed Statement on Appeal 
(Infraction)

CR-143, Page 7 of 7

Check here if you need more space to summarize the evidence and attach a separate page or pages 
summarizing this evidence. At the top of each page, write “CR-143, Item 6f.”

f. Summarize the evidence, other than the testimony, that was given during the trial that is relevant to the reasons 
you gave in       for this appeal (Write a complete and accurate summary of the evidence given by both you and 
the respondent. Include only the evidence; do not comment or give your opinion about this evidence.):

3

The Sentence

a.
b.
c.

The trial court imposed the following fine or other punishment on me/my client (check all that apply and fill in any 
required information):

d.

A fine of (fill in the amount of the fine): $
Traffic school
Community service (fill in the number of hours):

(describe any other punishment that the court imposed in this case):

6

7

b. I/My client was found not guilty of the following offenses (list all of the offenses for which you were/your client 
was found not guilty):

c. The following charges were dismissed after proof of correction was shown to the judge (list all of the charges 
that were dismissed):

8

Other punishment 

REMINDER: You must serve and file this form no later than 20 days after you file your notice
of appeal. If you do not file this form on time, the court may dismiss your appeal.

Signature of appellant or attorney

Date:

Type or print name

Trial Court Case Name: 
Trial Court Case Number:The People of the State of California v.
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This form is only for abandoning (giving up) an appeal in an infraction 
case, such as a case about a traffic ticket.

Before you fill out this form, read Information on Appeal Procedures for 
Infractions (form CR-141-INFO) to know your rights and responsibilities. 
You can get form CR-141-INFO at any courthouse or county law library or 
online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms.

Instructions

•

•

Fill out this form and make a copy of the completed form for your records.

Take or mail the completed form to the appellate division clerk’s office. It is 
a good idea to take or mail an extra copy to the clerk and ask the clerk to 
stamp it to show that the original has been filed.

•

•

CR-145 Abandonment of Appeal
(Infraction)

You fill in the name and street address of the court 
that issued the judgment or order you are  
appealing:

Superior Court of California, County of

You fill in the number and name of the trial court  
case in which you are appealing the judgment or  
order:

Trial Court Case Number:

Trial Court Case Name: 
The People of the State of California v.

Appellate Division Case Number:

You fill in the appellate division case number (if 
you know it):

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Abandonment of Appeal 
(Infraction)

1 Your Information

a. Name of appellant (the party who is filing this appeal):

Appellant’s lawyer (skip this if the appellant does not have a lawyer for this appeal):b.

Name: State Bar number:

Street City State Zip

Street City State Zip

Phone: E-mail:
Fax:

Street address: 

Mailing address (if different): 

Mailing address (if different): 

Street address: 
Street City State Zip

Street City State Zip

Phone: E-mail:
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I/my client filed a notice of appeal in the trial court case identified 
in the box on page 1 of this form.

By signing and filing this form, I abandon/my client abandons that appeal.

Signature of appellant or attorney

On (fill in the date):

Date:

Type or print your name

2

3

Abandonment of Appeal 
(Infraction)

Appellate Division 

Case Name: 

Appellate Division Case Number:
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This information sheet tells you how to fill out Proof of 
Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-109) or Proof of 
Electronic Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-
109E). This information sheet is not part of the proof of 
service and does not need to be copied, served, or filed. 

“Serving” a document on a person means having the 
document delivered to that person. The general 
requirements for serving documents are set out in 
California Code of Civil Procedure sections 1010.6–
1013a (you can get a copy of these laws at any county 
law library or online at www.leginfo.ca.gov.calaw.html). 
There are three main ways to serve documents: (1) by 
mail, (2) by personal delivery, or (3) by electronic 
service. 

When a document is served by mail, it must be put in a 
sealed envelope or package that is addressed to the 
person who is being served and that has the postage fully 
prepaid. The envelope then has to be deposited with the 
U.S. Postal Service by leaving it at a U.S. Postal Service 
office or mail drop or at an office or business mail drop 
where the person serving the document knows the mail 
is picked up every day and deposited with the U.S. 
Postal Service. 

When a document is personally delivered to a party who 
is represented by an attorney, the document must either 
be given directly to the attorney representing that party 
or the document can be placed in an envelope or package 
addressed to the attorney and left with the receptionist at 
the attorney’s office or with a person who is in charge of 
the attorney’s office. When a document is personally 
served on a party who is not represented by an attorney, 
the document must either be given directly to the party 
or the document can be given to someone who is at least 
18 years old at the party’s residence between the hours 
of eight in the morning and six in the evening. 

You may be able to serve a document electronically if 
the person being served has agreed to accept electronic 
service or if the court has ordered the person to accept 
electronic service. The requirements for electronic 
service are set out in California Code of Civil Procedure 
section 1010.6. 

When a document is electronically served, it must be 
served either by electronic transmission or by electronic 
notification. “Electronic transmission” means sending 
the document to the person’s electronic service 
address, an email address the person has given the 
court and the other parties to the case for this purpose. 
“Electronic notification” means sending a notice to the 
person with the exact name of the document and a 
hyperlink—a link to a web address—at which the 
document may be viewed and downloaded. 

Rule 8.817 of the California Rules of Court requires that 
before you file any document with the court in a case in 
the appellate division of the superior court, you must 
serve one copy of the document on each of the other 
parties in the case and on anyone else when required by 
law (statute or rule of court). Other rules require that 
certain documents in cases in the appellate division be 
served, including the notice of appeal and the notice 
designating the record on appeal in appeals in limited 
civil cases and briefs in all appeals. (For more 
information about appeals in general and about these 
documents, read Information on Appeal Procedures for 
Limited Civil Cases (form APP-101-INFO), Information 
on Appeal Procedures for Misdemeanors (form CR-131-
INFO), and Information on Appeal Procedures for 
Infractions (form CR-141-INFO).) 

State law (the Code of Civil Procedure) says that a 
document in a court case can only be served by a person 
who is over 18 years old. Service by mail or by personal 
delivery must be by someone who is not a party in the 
case; electronic service may be performed directly by a 
party. 

If you are a party in a case and wish to serve documents 
by mail or by personal delivery, you must have 
someone else who is over 18 and who is not a party in 
your case serve any documents in your case for you. 
You will need to give the person who is serving the 
document for you (the server) the names and addresses 
of all the people who need to be served with that 
document. You will also need to give the server one 
copy of each document that needs to be served for each 
person who is being served.  

What does this information sheet cover? 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

What is “serving” a document?1 What documents have to be served?2

Who can serve a document?3
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If you are serving documents electronically, you can do 
so yourself or have another person over 18 do it for you. 
The person doing the serving (the server) will need the 
names and electronic service addresses of everyone who 
must be served, as well as the document to be served in a 
form that allows it to be electronically transmitted or 
made available by hyperlink. 
 
 
 
A “proof of service” shows the court that a document 
was served as required by the law. Rule 8.817 also 
requires a party who is filing a document with the court 
in a case in the appellate division to attach a proof of 
service to the document the party wants to file. You can 
use Proof of Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-
109) or Proof of Electronic Service (Appellate Division) 
(form APP-109E) to give the court this proof of service 
in any case in the appellate division of the superior 
court. The server should follow the instructions below 
for completing the Proof of Service (Appellate Division) 
(form APP-109) or Proof of Electronic Service 
(Appellate Division) (form APP-109E). If another person 
is serving the documents for you–as is required if the 
document will be served by mail or personal delivery–
tell the server to give you the original form when it is 
filled out and signed. You will need to attach the original 
proof of service to the document you want to file. 

If you are electronically filing the document, the proof of 
service may also be filed electronically. However, the 
original signed proof of service must be kept by the 
party filing the document and produced upon request. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If you are the server (the person who serves a document 
for a party in a court case), you must prepare and sign 
the proof of service. If you served the document by mail 
or personal delivery, you can use Proof of Service 
(Appellate Division) (form APP-109) to prepare this 
proof of service in any case in the appellate division. If 
you served the document electronically, you can use 
Proof of Electronic Service (Appellate Division) (form 
APP-109E) to prepare the proof of service. 
 
 

 
 
These instructions are for Proof of Service (Appellate 
Division) (form APP-109), if you are serving the 
document by mail or personal delivery. If you are 
serving the document electronically, please see    , 
below, for instructions on how to fill out Proof of 
Electronic Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-
109E). 
 
You can fill out most of the information on Proof of 
Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-109) by copying 
the information from the document you are serving 
before you serve that document. However, you should 
not sign and date the form until after you have finished 
serving the document. By signing form APP-109, you 
are swearing, under penalty of perjury, that the 
information that you put in the form is true and 
correct. 
 
When you fill out the Proof of Service (Appellate 
Division) (form APP-109), you should print neatly or 
use a typewriter. If you have Internet access, you can fill 
out the form online at www.courts.ca.gov/forms (use the 
“fillable” version of the form).  
 
Filling in the top section of form APP-109: 
 
First box, right side of form: Leave this box blank for the 
court’s use. 
 
Second box, right side of form: Fill in the name of the 
county in which the case is filed and the street address of 
the court. You can copy this information from the first 
page of the document that you are serving. If the 
document you are serving is another Judicial Council 
form, this information will be in the second box on the 
right-hand side of the form. 
 
Third box, right side of form: Fill in the trial court case 
name and number. You can copy this information from 
the first page of the document that you are serving. If the 
document you are serving is another Judicial Council 
form, this information will be in the third box on the 
right-hand side of the form. 
 
Fourth box, right side of form: Fill in the appellate 
division case number, if you know it. If this number is 
available, it will be on the first page of the document that 
you are serving. If the document you are serving is 

INFORMATION FOR THE SERVER 

Who fills out the Proof of Service or 
Proof of Electronic Service? 

5 

How do I fill out the Proof of Service? 6 

What is proof of service? 4 

 

7 
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another Judicial Council form, this number will be in the 
fourth box on the right-hand side of the form. 
 
Filling in items 1–5: 
 
Items       and      : You are stating, under penalty of 
perjury, that you are over the age of 18 and that you are 
not a party in this court case.  
 
Item      : Check one of the boxes and provide your home 
or business address. This information is important 
because, if you serve the document by mail, you must 
live or work in the county from which the document was 
mailed. 
 
Item       : Check or fill in the name of the document that 
you are serving. If the document you are serving is 
another Judicial Council form, the name of the document 
is located on both the top and the bottom of the first page 
of the form. If the document you are serving is not a 
Judicial Council form, the name of the document should 
be on the top of the first page of the document. 
 
a. Check box 4a if you are serving the document by 

mail. BEFORE YOU SEAL AND MAIL THE 
ENVELOPE WITH THE DOCUMENT YOU ARE 
SERVING, fill in the following parts of the form. 

 
(1) You are stating, under penalty of perjury, that 

you are putting one copy of the document you 
identified in item 4 in an envelope addressed to 
each person listed in 4a(2), sealing the envelope, 
and putting first-class postage on the envelope. 

 
(2) Fill in the name and address of each person to 

whom you are mailing the document. You can 
copy this information from the list of people to 
be served or the envelopes provided by the party 
for whom you are serving the document. If you 
need more space to list names and addresses, 
check the box under item 4a(2) and attach a page 
listing them. At the top of the page, write  
“APP-109, Item 4a.” 
 

(3) Fill in the date you are mailing the document 
and the city and state from which you are 
mailing it. REMEMBER: You must live or work 
in the county from which the document is 
mailed. 

(a) Check box 4a(3)(a) if you are personally 
depositing the document with the U.S. 
Postal Service, such as at a U.S. Post Office 
or U.S. Postal Service mailbox.  
 

(b) Check box 4a(3)(b) if you are putting the 
document in the mail at your place of 
business.  

 
Once you have finished filling out these parts of the 
form, make one copy of Proof of Service (Appellate 
Division) (form APP-109) with this information 
filled in for each person you are serving by mail. Put 
this copy of Proof of Service (Appellate Division) 
(form APP-109) in the envelope with the document 
you are serving. Seal the envelope and mail it as you 
have indicated on the Proof of Service. 

 
b. Check box 4b. If you personally delivered the 

documents. Remember, when a document is 
personally delivered to a party who is represented by 
an attorney, the document must either be given 
directly to the party’s attorney or the document can 
be placed in an envelope or package addressed to the 
attorney and left with the receptionist at the 
attorney’s office or with a person who is in charge of 
the attorney’s office. When a document is personally 
served on a party who is not represented by an 
attorney, the document must either be given directly 
to the party or the document can be given to 
someone who is at least 18 years old at the party’s 
residence between the hours of eight in the morning 
and six in the evening. 

 
For each person to whom you personally 
delivered the document, fill in: 
 
(a) The person’s name. 

 
(b) The address at which you delivered the 

document to this person. 
 

(c) The date on which you delivered the 
document to this person. 
 

(d) The time at which you delivered the 
document. 

 
If you need space to list more names, addresses, 
and delivery dates and times, check the box 

2 1 

3 

4 
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under 4b. and attach a page listing this 
information. At the top of the page, write  
“APP-109, Item 4b.” 
 

Item      : At the bottom of the form, type or print your 
name, sign the form, and fill in the date that you signed 
the form. By signing this form, you are stating under 
penalty of perjury that all the information you filled 
in on Proof of Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-
109) is true and correct. 
 
After you have finished serving the document and filled 
in, signed, and dated Proof of Service (Appellate 
Division) (form APP-109), give the original completed 
form to the party for whom you served the document. 
 
 
 
 
You can fill out most of the information on Proof of 
Electronic Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-
109E) by copying the information from the document 
you are serving before you serve that document. 
However, you should not sign and date the form until 
after you have finished serving the document. By 
signing form APP-109E you are swearing under 
penalty of perjury that the information you have put 
in the form is true and correct. 
 
You can fill out the Proof of Electronic Service 
(Appellate Division) (form APP-109E) online at 
www.courts.ca.gov/forms (use the “fillable” version of 
the form), or you can print it out and fill it in, printing 
neatly or using a typewriter. 
 
Filling in the top section of form APP-109E: 
 
First box, right side of form: Leave this box blank for the 
court’s use. 
 
Second box, right side of form: Fill in the name of the 
county in which the case is filed and the street address of 
the court. You can copy this information from the first 
page of the document that you are serving. If the 
document you are serving is another Judicial Council 
form, this information will be in the second box on the 
right-hand side of that form. 
 

Third box, right side of form: Fill in the trial court case 
number and name. You can copy this information from 
the first page of the document that you are serving. If the 
document you are serving is another Judicial Council 
form, this information will be in the third box on the 
right-hand side of that form. 
 
Fourth box, right side of form: Fill in the appellate 
division case number, if you know it. If this number is 
available, it will be on the first page of the document that 
you are serving. If the document you are serving is 
another Judicial Council form, this information will be 
in the fourth box on the right-hand side of that form. 
 
Filling in items 1–5:   
 
Item      : You are stating, under penalty of perjury, that 
you are over the age of 18. 
 
Item      :  
a. Check one of the boxes and provide your home or 
business address. 
 
b. Fill in your electronic service address. This is the 
address at which you have agreed to accept electronic 
service, usually an email address.  
 
Item      : Check or fill in the name of the document that 
you are serving. If the document you are serving is 
another Judicial Council form, the name of the document 
is located on both the top and the bottom of the first page 
of the form. If the document you are serving is not a 
Judicial Council form, the name of the document should 
be on the top of the first page of the document. 
 
Item      : Fill in the name of each person served, and the 
name or names of the parties represented, if the person 
served is an attorney. For each person served, fill in that 
person’s electronic service address and the date you 
served the person. If you need more space to list 
additional persons served, check the box under item      
b. and attach a page listing them, with their electronic 
service addresses and the date each person was served. 
At the top of the page, write “APP-109E, Item 4.”  
 
When you have filled in the information in items 1–4, 
create an electronic copy of the Proof of Electronic 
Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-109E) with this 

5 

How do I fill out the Proof of Electronic 
Service? 7 1 

2 

3 

4 

4 
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information filled in. Transmit the filled-in form with the 
document you are serving to each person served. 
 
Item      : At the bottom of the form, type or print your 
name, sign the form, and fill in the date that you signed 
the form. By signing this form, you are stating under 
penalty of perjury that all the information you filled 
in on the Proof of Electronic Service (Appellate 
Division) (form APP-109E) is true and correct. If you 
are not the party for whom the documents are served, 
give the original completed Proof of Electronic Service 
(Appellate Division) (form APP-109E) to the party for 
whom you served the document. 
 
If you are electronically filing the document that is 
served, the proof of service may also be filed 
electronically. However, the original signed proof of 
service must be kept by the party filing it and produced 
upon request. 
 
 
 

5 



APP-109 Proof of Service 
(Appellate Division)

Instructions

Before you fill out this form, read What Is Proof of Service? (form  
APP-109-INFO) to understand your responsibilities.

This form is only for providing proof that a document has been served  
(delivered) in a proceeding in the superior court appellate division. If you 
are serving a document electronically, please use Proof of Electronic 
Service (Appellate Division) (form APP-109E).

•

The person who serves (delivers) a document in this case and who fills out  
this form:

•

Must be at least 18 years old

Must NOT be a party in this case

At the time I served the documents listed in      , I was at least 18 years old.

I am not a party in the case identified in the box on the right side of  
this page.

My  

I mailed or personally delivered the following document, as indicated  
below (check or fill in the name of the document you are serving and  
check and complete either a or b).

I put one copy of the document identified        in an envelope addressed to each person listed in (2), 
sealed the envelope, and put first-class postage on the envelope.

(1)

a.

home business address is:

Notice of Appeal/Cross Appeal (Limited Civil Case)

Notice Designating Record on Appeal (Limited Civil Case)

Proposed Statement on Appeal (  Limited Civil Case Misdemeanor Infraction)

Appellant’s Opening Brief

Respondent’s Brief

Appellant’s Reply Brief

Abandonment of Appeal (Limited Civil Case)

Petition for Writ (Misdemeanor, Infraction, or Limited Civil Case)

Other (write in the name of the document):

Service by Mail

•

Street City State Zip

4

1 4

2

3

4

Proof of Service 
(Appellate Division)

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
Rev. January 1, 2017, Optional Form

APP-109 Page 1 of 2

You fill in the name and street address of the court 
that issued the decision that is being challenged in 
this case:

Superior Court of California, County of

You fill in the number and name of the trial court 
case in which the decision being challenged was 
issued:

Trial Court Case Number:

Trial Court Case Name:

Appellate Division Case Number:

You fill in the appellate division case number (if 
you know it):

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.
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5I declare under penalty of perjury under California state law that the information above is true and correct.

Server signs here after serving

Proof of Service 
(Appellate Division)

Address on envelope:

I personally gave one copy of the document identified in       to each of the following people:

(1)

(Address where you gave the documents to this person:

4

4

4

I mailed the envelope or envelopes on                                      from  
                         by depositing the envelope or envelopes (check one):

(date):(city):
(state):

(3)

(a) 

The envelope or envelopes were addressed as follows: (2)

Address on envelope:

b.

Name of person served:

(Name of person served:

Check here if you mailed copies of the document identified in       to more people. Attach a  
separate page listing the names and addresses on each additional envelope you mailed. Write  
“APP-109, Item 4a” on the top of the page.

With the U.S. Postal Service or

At an office or business mail drop where I know the mail is picked up every day and deposited  
with the U.S. Postal Service.

Service by Personal Delivery

Name of person served:

Date when you gave the documents to this person:

Time when you gave the documents to this person:

Check here if you gave copies of the document identified in       to more people. Attach a separate  
page listing the names of each of these people, the address where you gave each of them the  
document, and the date and time you gave them the document. Write “APP-109, Item 4b” on the 
top  of the page.

Date:

Type or print server’s name

(a)

(b)

StreetCityStateZip

StreetCityStateZip

StreetCityStateZip

(a)

(b)

(d)

(c)

(b) 

(2)

(Address where you gave the documents to this person:

Name of person served:

Date when you gave the documents to this person:

Time when you gave the documents to this person:

StreetCityStateZip

(a)

(b)

(d)

(c)

Appellate Division 

Case Name: 

Appellate Division Case Number:



APP-109E Proof of Electronic Service 
(Appellate Division)

Instructions

Before you fill out this form, read What Is Proof of Service? (form 
APP-109-INFO) to understand your responsibilities.

This form is only for providing proof that a document has been 
electronically served (delivered) in a proceeding in the superior court 
appellate division.

•

The person who serves (delivers) a document in this case and who fills out  
this form must be at least 18 years old.

•

At the time I served the documents listed in       , I was at least 18 years 
old.

My  

I electronically served the following document, as indicated below 
(check or fill in the name of the document you are serving).

home business address is:

Notice of Appeal/Cross Appeal (Limited Civil Case)

Notice Designating Record on Appeal (Limited Civil Case)

Proposed Statement on Appeal (  Limited Civil Case Misdemeanor Infraction)

Appellant’s Opening Brief

Respondent’s Brief

Appellant’s Reply Brief

Abandonment of Appeal (Limited Civil Case)

Petition for Writ (Misdemeanor, Infraction, or Limited Civil Case)

Other (write in the name of the document):

•

Street City State Zip

1 3

2

3

Proof of Electronic Service 
(Appellate Division)

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
New January 1, 2017, Optional Form

APP-109E, Page 1 of 2

You fill in the name and street address of the court 
that issued the decision that is being challenged in 
this case:

Superior Court of California, County of

You fill in the number and name of the trial court 
case in which the decision being challenged was 
issued:

Trial Court Case Number:

Trial Court Case Name:

Appellate Division Case Number:

You fill in the appellate division case number (if 
you know it):

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

a.

My electronic service address is:b.
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5I declare under penalty of perjury under California state law that the information above is true and correct.

Server signs here after serving

Proof of Electronic Service 
(Appellate Division)

a.

(2)

Name of person served: (1)

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

Electronic service address of person served:

On (date): (3)

Date:

Type or print server’s name

4I electronically served the document checked in      as follows 3

b.

(2)

Name of person served: (1)

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

Electronic service address of person served:

On (date): (3)

Check here if you gave copies of the document listed in        to more people. Attach a separate page listing the 
names of these people, the names of parties represented if the person served is an attorney, the electronic 
service address used for each person served, and the date you electronically served the document. Write 
“APP-109E, Item 4” on top of the page.

3

Appellate Division 

Case Name: 

Appellate Division Case Number:



Defendant                                            married.

Defendant's present employment:

If defendant is not now working, state the name and address of defendant's last employer and the last date defendant was 
employed.

Spouse's present employment

If spouse is not now working, state the name and address of spouse's last employer and the last date spouse was employed.

Dependents Name Address Relationship Age

DEFENDANT'S FINANCIAL STATEMENT ON ELIGIBILITY FOR 
APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL AND REIMBURSEMENT AND 

RECORD ON APPEAL AT PUBLIC EXPENSE

Pen. Code, § 987. 8 
www.courts.ca.gov

Form Approved for Optional Use 
Judicial Council of California 
CR-105  [Rev. September 1, 2018]

Page 1 of 2

7.

1. a.
b.
c.

d.
e.
f.

8.

6.

2.

3.

a.
b.
c.
d.
e.
f.
g.

b.
c.

CR-105

4.

5.

DEFENDANT:

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA v.

FOR COURT USE ONLY

DEFENDANT'S FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND NOTICE TO DEFENDANT 
(check all that apply)

ELIGIBILITY FOR APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL 
REIMBURSEMENT FOR COST OF COURT-APPOINTED COUNSEL

ELIGIBILITY FOR RECORD ON APPEAL AT PUBLIC EXPENSE

Defendant's name:
Other names used:

Telephone number:
Driver's license number:

Address:

Occupation:

Name of credit union:
Name of union:

Gross pay per month: $ week: $ day: $ 
Address:
Name of employer:

Take-home pay per month: $ week: $ day: $ 

Address:
Name:

Last date of employment:
is is not

a.

b.

c.

d.
e.
f.

Spouse's name:

Other names used:
Telephone number:
Driver's license number:

Address:

a.
b.
c.
d.
e.
f.
g.

Occupation:

Name of credit union:
Name of union:

Gross pay per month: $ week: $ day: $ 
Address:
Name of employer:

Take-home pay per month: $ week: $ day: $ 

a.
b.
c.

Address:
Name:

Last date of employment:

Date of birth:

Date of birth:

a.

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

CASE NUMBER:



OTHER MONTHLY INCOMEDefendant9. Spouse

EXPENSES
Monthly expenses being paid by defendant alone or by defendant and spouse

Installment payments other than those listed in item 10.
MonthIy Payment Balance Owed

a.
b.
c.
d.
e.

Total: $
ASSETS

What do you own? (State value):

Cash
House equity
Cars, other vehicles and boat equity (List
make, year, and license number of each)

Checking, savings, and credit union accounts 
(List name and account number of each)

Other real estate equity
Income tax refunds due
Life insurance policies (ordinary life, face value)
Other personal property (jewelry, furniture, furs, stocks and bonds, etc.)

13. ELIGIBILITY FOR APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL AND NOTICE TO DEFENDANT: If an attorney is appointed to represent you, 
the court will, at the conclusion of the criminal proceedings, after a hearing, make a determination of your ability to pay all or a 
portion of the cost of the attorney. If the court determines that you are at that time able to pay, the court will order you to pay all or 
part of such cost. Such an order will have the same force and effect as a judgment in a civil action and will be subject to execution.

Declaration of Defendant
I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct, and that I understand the notice contained in item 13, under the 
laws of the state of California.

SIGNATURE OF DEFENDANT

Name of Creditor

CR-105

e.

d.

a.

c.
b.

f.

h.
g.

e.
d.

a.

c.
b.

h.
g.
f.

Unemployment and disability
Social Security
Welfare, TANF
Veteran's benefits 
Worker's compensation
Child support payments 
Spousal support payments 
All other income not elsewhere listed

Total:

 $

 $
 $
 $
 $
 $
 $
 $

 $

e.
d.

a.

c.
b.

h.
g.
f.

Unemployment and disability
Social Security
Welfare, TANF
Veteran's benefits 
Worker's compensation
Child support payments 
Spousal support payments 
All other income not elsewhere listed

CASE NUMBER:PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA  v.
DEFENDANT:

Total:

 $

 $
 $
 $
 $
 $
 $
 $

 $

11.

10.
Rent or house payments Clothing and laundry

Food
Support payments
Insurance payments
Other payments (union, taxes, 
utilities) Total (a-j): 

j.
i.

f.

h.
g.

 $

 $
 $
 $
 $

 $

Car payments
Transportation payments
Medical and dental payments
Loan payments e.

d.

a.

c.
b.

 $

 $
 $
 $
 $

 $

 $
 $
 $
 $

Total: $

 $

 $
 $
 $
 $

12.

Total:

 $

 $
 $
 $
 $

 $

 $
 $

 $

Length of ownership

Date:

DEFENDANT'S FINANCIAL STATEMENT ON ELIGIBILITY FOR 
APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL AND REIMBURSEMENT AND 

RECORD ON APPEAL AT PUBLIC EXPENSE
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