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MC-300e&s Rev. 1/24/18 

Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa 
 

Interpreter Request 
 

If you need an interpreter, please complete the form below and submit it to any Filing Window or 
courtroom.   

Case Number: ____________________________  

Case Type: 

 Criminal  Small Claims – ($10,000 or less) 

 Traffic  Civil -  $25,000   over $25,000 

 Civil Harassment  Civil – Other __________________ 

 Conservatorship  Family Law 

 Proceedings to terminate parental rights  Unlawful Detainer 

 Dependent Adult Abuse  Guardianship 

 Juvenile  Elder Abuse 

Party Requesting Interpreter: _____________________________________________________  

Is interpreter for a witness?     Yes    No 

Phone Number(s) where party can be reached: ______________________________________  

Date of Hearing:  __________________________  Time of Hearing: ________________  

Department: _________  Location:   Martinez    Pittsburg    Richmond    Walnut Creek 

Language Needed:  Spanish     Mandarin     Cantonese     Vietnamese 

  Other: _______________________________________  

 

To avoid the risk that your hearing will have to be postponed, please submit this form a 
minimum of one week in advance.   

 

Current information about this program is available at our website:   
www.cc-courts.org/interpreter 

 



MC-300e&s Rev. 1/24/18 

Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa 
 

Solicitud Para Intérprete 

 

Si necesita un intérprete, favor completar este formulario y presentarlo en cualquier ventanilla 
para archivar documentos o con la secretaria  del tribunal.  

Número de Caso: __________________________  

Tipo de Caso: 

 Criminal 

 Tráfico 

 Acoso Civil 

 Conservador 

 Casos para Terminar Derechos de 
Madre o Padre 

 Abuso de Adultos Incapacitados 

 Tribual de Menores 

 Demanda Civil – ($10,000 o menos) 

 Demanda Civil -  
  $25,000   más de $25,000 

 Civil – otro tipo _________________ 

 Casos de Familia 

 Juicio de Desalojo 

 Tutela 

 Abuso de Personas Mayores 

Persona que Necesita Intérprete: _________________________________________________  

 Marque aquí si esta persona es un testigo 

Número Telefónico: ____________________________________________________________  

Fecha de la Audiencia Judicial: _____________________  Hora: ____________________  

Departmento: _________  Ciudad:   Martinez    Pittsburg    Richmond    Walnut Creek 

Idioma Solicitado:  Español    Mandarín    Cantonés    Vietnamita 

  Otro Idioma:   _________________________________  

 

Para evitar la posibilidad que su audiencia sea aplazada, favor the presentar este formulario al 
menos una semana antes de la fecha de su audiencia. 

 

Información actualizada acerca de este servicio se encuentra en nuestra página web:  
www.cc-courts.org/interpreter 



CH-100-INFO Can a Civil Harassment Restraining Order Help Me?

What is a civil harassment restraining
order?
It is a court order that helps protect people from
harassment.

Can I get a civil harassment restraining
order?
You can ask for one if you are worried about your
safety because someone:

• Is harassing you
• Is stalking you
• Has committed acts of violence against you, or
• Has threatened you with violence

How will the order help me?
The court can order a person to:

Not harass or threaten you
Not contact or go near you, and
Not have any firearms (guns), firearm parts, or 
ammunition. This includes firearm receivers and 
frames, and any item that may be used as or easily 
turned into a receiver or frame (see Penal Code 
section 16531).

What forms do I need to get the order?
You must fill out all of form

              and form
Confidential CLETS Information. If you need 
attachments, you may use form                 You must also 
fill out items 1 and 2 on form
Hearing, and items 1, 2, and 3 on form
Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS-TCH).

Where can I get these forms?

Judicial Council of California 
www.courts.ca.gov
Rev. January 1, 2023, Optional Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.6

Can a Civil Harassment Restraining Order Help Me? 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

 CH-100-INFO, Page 1 of 3

You can also ask for protection for people who live with 
you and family members.

What do I need to do to get the order?
You must go to the superior court in the county where 
the harassment took place or the person to be restrained 
lives. At the court, ask where you should file your 
request for a civil harassment restraining order. (A self-
help center or legal aid association may be able to assist 
you in filing your  request.) 
At the court, give your forms to the clerk of the court. 
The clerk will give you a hearing date on the Notice of 
Court Hearing  form, and if your request for immediate 
orders is granted, a copy of the Temporary Restraining 
Order signed  by a judicial officer.

In a civil harassment case, the court cannot:
• Order a person to move out of your residence
• Order a person to pay child support to you
• Make orders for custody and visitation

If you need these orders, you should proceed under  the 
Domestic Violence Protection Act. File form 

The court also cannot:

If you need these remedies, you must file a civil action. 

These instructions cannot cover all of the questions that may arise in a particular case. If you 
do not know what to do to protect your rights, you should see a lawyer.

• Order a person to pay money that he or she owes
you

• Order someone to move out of rental property
that you own

• Order someone to stop creating a nuisance that
doesn't involve harassment

You can get the forms from legal publishers or from the 
California Courts website at 
You also may be able to find them at your local 
courthouse or county law library.

How much does it cost?
That depends on the type of harassment. If the restrained 
person has used or threatened to use violence against 
you or has stalked you, you do not have to pay a filing 
fee; otherwise, you must pay the fee. 

If you cannot afford to pay the filing fee, ask the clerk 
how to apply for a fee waiver. Form FW-001 is available 
for this purpose. 

If the order is based on prior acts of violence, a credible
threat of violence, or stalking, you are entitled to free 
service of the order by a sheriff or marshal. Also, if you 
are eligible  for a fee waiver, you can ask the sheriff or 
marshal to serve the order for free. If you are not eligible 
for free service, you may pay the sheriff or marshal to 
serve the order. •

•
•

For more information about the items a restrained 
person cannot have, please see https://selfhelp
.courts.ca.gov/restraining-orders/prohibited-items.

DV-100.

www.courts.ca.gov/forms.

Harassment Restraining Orders,
CH-100, Request for Civil

CLETS-001,

MC-025.
CH-109, Notice of Court

CH-110,



Do I have to go to court?
Yes. Go to court on the date the clerk gives you.

Do I need a lawyer?

Rev. January 1, 2023 Can a Civil Harassment Restraining Order Help Me? 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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Having a lawyer is always a good idea, but it is not
required and you are not entitled to a free, court-
appointed attorney. Ask the court clerk about free and 
low-cost legal services and self-help centers in your 
county.

What if the restrained person does not
obey the order?
Call the police. The restrained person can be arrested
and charged with a crime.

How soon can I get the order?
If you ask for a temporary restraining order, the court
will decide within 24 hours whether or not to make the 
order. Sometimes the court decides sooner. Ask whether 
you should wait or come back later to get the signed 
Notice of Court Hearing and Temporary Restraining 
Order.

How long does the order last?
If the court makes a temporary order, it will last until 
your hearing date. At that time, the court will decide to 
continue or cancel the order. The order could last for up 
to five years.

How will the person to be restrained know
about the order?
Someone age 18 or older—not you or anyone else to be 
protected by the order—must “serve” (give) the person 
to be restrained a copy of the order. The server must then 
fill out form  and 
give it to you to file with the court. For help with 
service, ask the court clerk for form
What Is “Proof of Personal Service?”

The court may or may not let witnesses speak at the
hearing. So, if possible, you should bring their written
statements under oath to the hearing. (You can use form 
MC-030, Declaration, for this.)

Do I need to bring a witness to the court
hearing?
Witnesses are not required, but it helps to have more
proof of the harassment than just your word. You can
bring:

• Witnesses
• Written statements from witnesses made under oath
• Photos
• Medical or police reports
• Damaged property
• Threatening letters, emails, or telephone messages

Will I see the restrained person at the court
hearing?
If the person comes to the hearing, yes. But that person
does not have the right to speak to you. If you are afraid, 
tell the court officer.

Can I bring someone with me to court?
Yes. You can bring someone to sit with you during the
hearing. But that person cannot speak for you in court.
Only you or your lawyer (if you have one) can speak for
you.

CH-100-INFO Can a Civil Harassment Restraining Order Help Me?

CH-200, Proof of Personal Service,

CH-200-INFO,

MC-030, Declaration,



What if I have a disability?

For help in your area, contact:
[Local information may be inserted.]

If you have a disability and need an accommodation 
while you are at court, you can use form
Disability Accommodation Request, to make your 
request. You can also ask the ADA Coordinator in your 
court for help. For more information, see form
INFO, How to Request a Disability Accommodation for 
Court.

Can I agree with the restrained person to
cancel the order?
No. Once the order is issued, only the judge can change 
or  cancel it. You or the restrained person would have to 
file a  request with the court to cancel the order.

What if I don't speak English?
When you file your papers, ask the clerk if a court 
interpreter is available. You can also use form
Request for Interpreter (Civil), or a local court form or 
website to request an interpreter. For more information 
about court interpreters, go to
.gov/request-interpreter.

CH-100-INFO Can a Civil Harassment Restraining Order Help Me?
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Information about the process is also 
available online.
See https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/CH-restraining-order.

MC-410,

MC-410-

INT-300,

https://selfhelp.courts.ca



 

Local Court Form - Instructions 
CV-644a-INFO Rev. 12/20/21 

INSTRUCTIONS 
RESTRAINING ORDERS - CIVIL HARASSMENT  

Department 57 
725 Court Street, Room 102, Martinez 

1. To have your Civil Harassment Restraining Order request considered, please submit completed 
paperwork to Department 57 at the Wakefield Taylor Building, located at 725 Court St. in Martinez, 
between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 10:30 a.m. Monday – Friday, except for court holidays.   

Civil Harassment Restraining Order requests are only reviewed and signed during these 
specific hours. 
 

COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING ATTACHED FORMS: 
 

-  Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders (CH-100) 
-  Temporary Restraining Order (CH-110) 
-   Notice of Court Hearing (CH-109) *Top portion only* 

 

AFTER YOUR APPLICATION IS REVIEWED AND SIGNED BY THE JUDGE YOU MUST: 
 
2. You must now have the defendant served.  Anyone over the age of 18, who is NOT a party to the 

action, may serve the defendant.  The defendant must be personally served with a copy of the 
Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders (CH-100), Notice of Hearing (CH-109) and 
Temporary Restraining Order (CH-110) AND the forms How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil 
Harassment Restraining Orders? (CH-120-INFO), a blank Response to Request for Civil 
Harassment Restraining Orders (CH-120), and a blank Proof of Service of Response by Mail (CH-
250) at least five (5) days before the hearing date, unless the court orders a shorter period. 

 
3. You, or anyone else, must deliver the Notice of Hearing (CH-109) and Temporary Restraining 

Order (CH-110) to the police agencies listed in the Order.  Do not give the police a copy of the 
Request for Orders to Stop Harassment, just the Notice of Hearing and Temporary Restraining 
Order. 

 
4. After the defendant has been served with the papers, the person who served the paper MUST 

complete the Proof of Personal Service (CH-200).  Please pay particular attention to this form.  If it 
is not correctly filled out, the court cannot proceed on the hearing date.  Make sure the person who 
serves the defendant enters the date, prints his/her name AND signs his/her name at the bottom of 
the form. 

 
5. The Proof of Personal Service MUST be filed prior to the court date (Clerk’s office, Room 103).  Do 

not mail it in.  If you cannot file the Proof of Service before the court date, bring it with you to the 
hearing.  The Court CANNOT PROCEED WITHOUT THIS DOCUMENT. 

 
6. Between now and the hearing date, read all the instructions in the packet of forms.  You are 

responsible for filling out the Restraining Order After Hearing (CH-130) that is included in the 
packet.  That document is the final Order (what you have now is a temporary order which will 
expire on the date of the hearing).  Complete the Order prior to the hearing so that it may be 
signed immediately. 
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CH-100 Request for Civil Harassment
Restraining Orders

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

Read Can a Civil Harassment Restraining Order Help Me? (form CH-100-
INFO) before completing this form. Also fill out Confidential CLETS 
Information (form CLETS-001) with as much information as you know.

Person Seeking Protection
a. Your Full Name:

Age:
Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case)
Name: State Bar No.:
Firm Name:

b. Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s 
information. If you do not have a lawyer and want to keep your 
home address private, you may give a different mailing address 
instead. You do not have to give telephone, fax, or email.)
Address:
City: State: Zip:
Telephone: Fax:
Email Address:

2 Person From Whom Protection Is Sought
Full Name: Age:

Address (if known):
City: State: Zip:

3 Additional Protected Persons
a. Are you asking for protection for any other family or household members? Yes No If yes, list them:

Full Name Gender Age Lives with you? How are they related to you?
Yes No
Yes No
Yes No
Yes No

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 3b—Why Others Need Protection” for a title.

Check here if there are more persons. Attach a sheet of paper and write “Attachment 3a—Additional Protected 
Persons” for a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

b. Why do these people need protection? (Explain below):

This is not a Court Order.

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
Rev. January 1, 2023, Mandatory Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 527.6 and 527.9

Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-100, Page 1 of 6

1



4
2

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 4—Relationship of Parties” for a title.

5

The person in       lives in this county.
I was harassed by the person in      in this county.
Other (specify):

2
2

6
3 2

3
2

7 Description of Harassment
Harassment means violence or threats of violence against you, or a course of conduct that seriously alarmed,
annoyed, or harassed you and caused you substantial emotional distress. A course of conduct is more than one act.
a. Tell the court about the last time the person in       harassed you.2

(1) When did it happen? (provide date or estimated date):
(2) Who else was there?

b. Are there now any protective or restraining orders in effect relating to you or any of the persons in       and the
person in      ?

Other Court Cases
a. Have you or any of the persons named in      been involved in another court case with the person in      ?

How do you know the person in       ? (Explain below): 
Relationship of Parties

Why are you filing in this county? (Check all that apply):

b.
c.

a.

Venue

(If yes, attach a copy if you have one.)YesNo

This is not a Court Order.

Rev. January 1, 2023 Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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(1) Civil Harassment
Domestic Violence
Divorce, Nullity, Legal Separation
Paternity, Parentage, Child Custody
Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Eviction
Guardianship
Workplace Violence
Small Claims
Criminal
Other (specify):

(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)
(8)
(9)
(10)
(11)

Kind of Case Filed in (County/State)
(If yes, check each kind of case and indicate where and when each was filed.)Yes No

Year Filed Case Number (if known)

Case Number:



(3) How did the person in       harass you? (Explain below): 2
Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached 
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 7a(3)—Describe Harassment” for a title.

(4) Did the person in       use or threaten to use a gun or any other weapon?2
(If yes, explain below):NoYes

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached 
sheet  of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 7a(4)—Use of Weapons” for a title.

(5) Were you harmed or injured because of the harassment?
(If yes, explain below):Yes No

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached 
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 7a(5)—Harm or Injury” for a title.

Did the police come? Yes No
If yes, did they give you or the person in        an Emergency Protective Order?2 Yes No
If yes, the order protects (check all that apply):

Me The person in 2 The persons in 3  .
(Attach a copy of the order if you have one.)

b. Has the person in       harassed you at other times?2
Yes No (If yes, describe prior incidents and provide dates of harassment below):

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 7b—Previous Harassment” for a title.

This is not a Court Order.

Rev. January 1, 2023 Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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(6)

Case Number:

7 a.



8 Personal Conduct Orders 

Harass, intimidate, molest, attack, strike, stalk, threaten, assault (sexually or otherwise), hit, abuse, destroy 
personal property of, or disturb the peace of the person.
Contact the person, either directly or indirectly, in any way, including, but not limited to, in person, by
telephone, in writing, by public or private mail, by interoffice mail, by email, by text message, by fax, or by 
other electronic means. 

Other (specify):
Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 8c—Other Personal Conduct Orders,” for a
title.

9

10

Yes No I don’t know
If the judge grants a protective order, the person in       will be prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing,
receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive firearms (guns), firearm parts, and ammunition while the 
protective order is in effect. The person in       will also be ordered to turn in to law enforcement, or sell to or 
store with a licensed gun dealer, any firearms (guns) and firearm parts within their immediate possession or 
control.

Does the person in       own or possess any firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition? This includes firearm 
receivers and frames, and any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame (see Penal Code 
section 16531).

Check the orders you want. 

c.

I ask the court to order the person in not  to do any of the following things to me or to any person to be
protected listed in      :
a.

b.

The person in        will be ordered not to take any action to get the addresses or locations of any protected person
unless the court finds good cause not to make the order.

Firearms (Guns), Firearm Parts, and Ammunition

Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-100, Page 4 of 6

This is not a Court Order.

2
3

2

2

2

2

I ask the court to order the person in       to stay at least               yards away from (check all that apply):
Me.
The other persons listed in       . 3
My home.
My job or workplace.
My school.
My children’s school.
My children’s place of child care.

My vehicle.
Other (specify):

If the court orders the person in        to stay away from all the places listed above, will he or she still be able
to get to his or her home, school, or job? (If no, explain below):

b.

a.

(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)

(8)
(9)

(1)
(2)

(7)

2

2
Yes No

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 9b—Stay-Away Orders,” for a title.

Stay-Away Orders 

Case Number:

Rev. January 1, 2023



Has the person in      been told that you were going to go to court to seek a TRO against him or her?

11

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 11—Temporary Restraining Order” for a title.

2

12 Request to Give Less Than Five Days' Notice of Hearing
2

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 12—Request to Give Less Than Five Days’ Notice” for a title.

13 No Fee for Filing or Service

There should be no filing fee and the sheriff or marshal should serve the person in       for free because I
am entitled to a fee waiver. (You must complete and file form FW-001, Application for Waiver of Court
Fees and Costs .)

The sheriff or marshal should serve (notify) the person in       about the orders for free because my request
for orders is based on unlawful violence, a credible threat of violence, or stalking.

There should be no filing fee because the person in        has used or threatened to use violence against me,
has stalked me, or has acted or spoken in some other way that makes me reasonably fear violence.

2

2

2

14 Lawyer's Fees and Costs
lawyer’s fees Court costs.

$ $
$ $
$ $

Check here if there are more items. Put the items and amounts on the attached sheet of paper or form 
MC-025 and write “Attachment 14—Lawyer’s Fees and Costs” for a title.

You must have your papers personally served on the person in       at least five days before the hearing, unless the
court orders a shorter time for service. (Form CH-200-INFO explains What Is “Proof of Personal Service”? Form
CH-200, Proof of Personal Service, may be used to show the court that the papers have been served.)

 (If you answered no, explain why below):

a.

b.

c.

If you want there to be fewer than five days between service and the hearing, explain why below:

I ask the court to order payment of my

Item Amount Item Amount

Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-100, Page 5 of 6

This is not a Court Order.

Yes No

The amounts requested are:

Case Number:

Rev. January 1, 2023

Temporary Restraining Order
I request that a Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) be issued against the person in       to last until the hearing. I 
am presenting form  CH-110, Temporary Restraining Order, for the court’s signature together with this Request.

2



15 Possession and Protection of Animals

17 Number of pages attached to this form, if any:

Date:

Lawyer’s name (if any) Lawyer’s signature

Sign your name

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above and on  all 
attachments is true and correct.

I ask the court to order the following:

Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-100, Page 6 of 6

This is not a Court Order.

Date:

Type or print your name

Case Number:

a. That I be given the sole possession, care, and control of the animals listed below, which I own, possess, 
lease, keep, or hold, or which reside in my household. 
(Identify animals by, e.g., type, breed, name, color, sex.)

b. That the person in      must stay at least            yards away from, and not take, sell, transfer, encumber, 
conceal, molest, attack, strike, threaten, harm, or otherwise dispose of, the animals listed above.

2

Rev. January 1, 2023

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached 
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 15a—Possession of Animals” for a title.

       I request sole possession of the animals because (specify good cause for granting order):

16 Additional Orders Requested
I ask the court to make the following additional orders (specify):

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 16—Additional Orders Requested,” for a title.



Protected Person
Your Full Name:

Name: State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

Address:
City: State: Zip:
Telephone: Fax:
Email Address:

Person in       must complete items      ,      , and       only.

In addition to the person named in      , the following family or household members of that person are protected by
the temporary orders indicated below:

Date: Time:

Expiration Date
This Order expires at the end of the hearing scheduled for the date and time below: 

The court will complete the rest of this form.

Full Name

Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information. 
If you do not have a lawyer and want to keep your home address 
private, you may give a different mailing address instead. You do not 
have to give telephone, fax, or email.):

Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case):
a.

b.

Yes No
Yes No
Yes No

Check here if there are additional persons. List them on an attached sheet of paper and write “Attachment 3—
Additional  Protected Persons” as a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

Yes No

Gender Age Household Member? Relation to Protected Person

a.m. p.m.

Additional Protected Persons

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

CH-110 Temporary Restraining Order

3

4

1

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
Rev. January 1, 2023, Mandatory Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 527.6 and 527.9 
Approved by DOJ

Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS-TCH) 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-110, Page 1 of 6

This is a Court Order.

1

1 1 2 3

2 Restrained Person

Home Address:
City:

Relationship to Protected Person:
State: Zip:

*Age:*Full Name:

(Give all the information you know. Information with a star (*) is required
to add this order to the California police database. If age is unknown, give an estimate.)

*Gender: M F Nonbinary
Height: Weight:

Date of Birth:
Hair Color: Eye Color:*Race:



3

(3)

(4)

(1)

(2)

and to the other protected persons listed in       : 

Other (specify):

Harass, intimidate, molest, attack, strike, stalk, threaten, assault (sexually or otherwise), hit, abuse,
destroy personal property of, or disturb the peace of the person.
Contact the person, either directly or indirectly, in any way, including, but not limited to, in person, by 
telephone, in writing, by public or private mail, by interoffice mail, by email, by text message, by fax, 
or by other electronic means. 
Take any action to obtain the person’s address or location. If this item (3) is not checked, the court has
found good cause not to make this order.

Personal Conduct Orders

You must not do the following things to the person named in

The court has granted the temporary orders checked as granted below. If you do not obey these orders, you can be 
arrested and charged with a crime. You may be sent to jail for up to one year, pay a fine of up to $1,000, or both.

Other personal conduct orders are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 5a(4).

1

No Firearms (Guns), Firearm Parts, or Ammunition
a. You cannot own, possess, have, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or in any other way get any 

prohibited items listed in b on the next page.

Peaceful written contact through a lawyer or a process server or other person for service of legal papers related
to a court case is allowed and does not violate this order.  However, you may have your papers served by mail
on the person in      .

Stay-Away Order

5

7

6

a. You must stay at least                         yards away from (check all that apply):

1

1

1

1

3 1
1

1

(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

Each person in 
The home of the person in 
The job or workplace of the person 
in

The school of the children of the 
person in 

The place of child care of the children of 
the person in 

The vehicle of the person in 

Other (specify):

The person in

(5) The school of the person in 

This stay-away order does not prevent you from going to or from your home or place of employment.b.

a.

b.

1

Case Number:

Not Requested Denied Until the Hearing Granted as Follows:

Not Requested Denied Until the Hearing Granted as Follows:

To the Person in     :2

 Rev. January 1, 2023 Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS-TCH) 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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This is a Court Order.



Case Number:

File a receipt with the court within 48 hours of receiving this Order that proves that your firearms (guns) 
and firearm parts have been turned in, sold, or stored. (You may use Receipt for Firearms and Firearm 
Parts (form CH-800) for the receipt.)

d.

(2)

The court has received information that you own or possess a firearm (gun), firearm parts, or ammunition.

Possession and Protection of Animals8
Not Requested Denied Until the Hearing Granted as Follows (specify):

a. The person in      is given the sole possession, care, and control of the animals listed below, which are 
owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held by him or her, or reside in his or her household. 
(Identify animals by, e.g., type, breed, name, color, sex.)

1

b. The person in      must stay at least             yards away from, and not take, sell, transfer, encumber, conceal, 
molest, attack, strike, threaten, harm, or otherwise dispose of, the animals listed above.

2

Other Orders9
Not Requested Denied Until the Hearing Granted as Follows (specify):

Additional orders are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 9.

Mandatory Entry of Order Into CARPOS Through CLETS

b.

a.

This Order must be entered into the California Restraining and Protective Order System (CARPOS) through the
California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS). (Check one):

10

To the Person in     :1

The clerk will enter this Order and its proof-of-service form into CARPOS.

The clerk will transmit this Order and its proof-of-service form to a law enforcement agency to be entered
into CARPOS.

Rev. January 1, 2023 Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS-TCH) 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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This is a Court Order.

You must:
Sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, or turn in to a law enforcement agency, any firearms (guns) and 
firearm parts in your immediate possession or control. This must be done within 24 hours of being served 
with this Order. 

c.

(1)

b.
Firearms (guns);

(2)

Prohibited items are:
(1)

(3)

Firearm parts, meaning receivers, frames, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or 
frame (see Penal Code section 16531); and
Ammunition.



No Fee to Serve (Notify) Restrained Person
The sheriff or marshal will serve this Order without charge because:

a.
b.

Judicial Officer

1

11

12

Ordered Not Ordered

The Order is based on unlawful violence, a credible threat of violence, or stalking.
The person in       is entitled to a fee waiver.

Number of pages attached to this Order, if any:

Date:

Case Number:

If you have been personally served with this Temporary Restraining Order and form CH-109, Notice of Court Hearing,
but you do not appear at the hearing either in person or by a lawyer, and a restraining order that is the same as this 
Temporary Restraining Order except for the expiration date is issued at the hearing, a copy of the order will be served on 
you by mail at the address in item      .

Notice Regarding Nonappearance at Hearing and Service of Order

If this address is not correct or you wish to verify that the Temporary Restraining Order was converted into a restraining
order at the hearing without substantive change, or to find out the duration of the order, contact the clerk of the court.

2

Warnings and Notices to the Restrained Person in

You Cannot Have Firearms (Guns), Firearm Parts, or Ammunition 

2

You cannot own, have, possess, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or otherwise get any prohibited items listed in 
item 7b on page 3 while this Order is in effect. If you do, you can go to jail and pay a $1,000 fine. You must sell to or 
store with a licensed gun dealer, or turn in to a law enforcement agency, any firearms (guns) and firearm parts that you 
have or control as stated in item       above. The court will require you to prove that you did so.7

After You Have Been Served With a Restraining Order
Obey all the orders.

If you want to respond, fill out form CH-120, Response to Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders, and file
it with the court clerk. You do not have to pay any fee to file your response if the Request claims that you inflicted or
threatened violence against or stalked the person in      .

•

Read form CH-120-INFO, How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders?, to learn how 
to respond to this Order.

•

1

•

Rev. January 1, 2023 Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS-TCH) 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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This is a Court Order.

c. 1By the close of business on the date that this Order is made, the person in       or his or her lawyer should
deliver a copy of the Order and its proof-of-service form to the law enforcement agency listed below to
enter into CARPOS:

Name of Law Enforcement Agency Address (City, State, Zip)

Additional law enforcement agencies are listed at the end of this Order on Attachment 10.



Case Number:

Instructions for Law Enforcement

Enforcing the Restraining Order
This order is enforceable by any law enforcement agency that has received the order, is shown a copy of the order, or has 
verified its existence on the California Restraining and Protective Orders System (CARPOS). If the law enforcement 
agency has not received proof of service on the restrained person, the agency must advise the restrained person of the 
terms of the order and then must enforce it. Violations of this order are subject to criminal penalties.

Arrest Required if Order Is Violated
If an officer has probable cause to believe that the restrained person had notice of the order and has disobeyed the order, 
the officer must arrest the restrained person. (Pen. Code, §§ 836(c)(1), 13701(b).) A violation of the order may be a 
violation of Penal Code section 166 or 273.6. Agencies are encouraged to enter violation messages into CARPOS.

Start Date and End Date of Orders
This order starts on the date next to the judge’s signature on page 4. The order ends on the expiration date in item        on 
page 1.

4

At the hearing, the judge can make restraining orders against you that last for up to five years. Tell the judge why you 
disagree with the orders requested.

•

Whether or not you file a response, you should attend the hearing. If you have any witnesses, they must also go to the
hearing.

•

Notice/Proof of Service
The law enforcement agency must first determine if the restrained person had notice of the order. Consider the restrained 
person “served” (given notice) if (Pen. Code, § 836(c)(2)):

• The officer sees a copy of the Proof of Service or confirms that the Proof of Service is on file; or
• The restrained person was informed of the order by an officer.

An officer can obtain information about the contents of the order and proof of service in CARPOS. If proof of service on 
the restrained person cannot be verified, the agency must advise the restrained person of the terms of the order and then 
enforce it.

Rev. January 1, 2023 Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS-TCH) 
(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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This is a Court Order.

In addition to the response, you may file and have declarations served, signed by you and other persons who have
personal knowledge of the facts. You may use form MC-030, Declaration, for this purpose. It is available from the
clerk’s office at the court shown on page 1 of this form or at www.courts.ca.gov/forms. If you do not know how to
prepare a declaration, you should see a lawyer. 

•

You must have form CH-120 served by mail on the person in       or that person’s attorney. You cannot do this
yourself. The person who does the mailing should complete and sign form CH-250, Proof of Service by Mail. File the 
completed proof of service with the court clerk before the hearing date or bring it with you to the  hearing.

• 1



Conflicting Orders—Priorities for Enforcement

(Clerk will fill out this part.)

—Clerk's Certificate—

I certify that this Temporary Restraining Order is a true and correct copy of the
original on file in the court. 

Clerk’s Certificate 
[seal]

Clerk, by , DeputyDate:

Case Number:

Rev. January 1, 2023 Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS-TCH) 
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This is a Court Order.

If more than one restraining order has been issued protecting the protected person from the restrained 
person, the orders must be enforced in the following priority (see Pen. Code, § 136.2 and Fam. Code,
§§ 6383(h)(2), 6405(b)): 

1. Emergency Protective Order (EPO): If one of the orders is an Emergency Protective Order (form EPO-001), 
provisions (e.g., stay-away order) that are more restrictive than in the other restraining/protective orders must be 
enforced. Provisions of another order that do not conflict with the EPO must be enforced.

2. No-Contact Order: If a restraining/protective order includes a no-contact order, the no-contact order must be 
enforced. Item 5a(2) is an example of a no-contact order. 

3. Criminal Protective Order (CPO): If none of the orders include an EPO or a no-contact order, the most recent 
CPO must be enforced. (Fam. Code, §§ 6383(h)(2) and 6405(b).) Additionally, a CPO issued in a criminal case 
involving charges of domestic violence, Penal Code sections 261, 261.5, or former 262, or charges requiring sex 
offender registration must be enforced over any civil court order. (Pen. Code, § 136.2(e)(2).) All provisions in the 
civil court order that do not conflict with the CPO must be enforced.

4. Civil Restraining Orders: If there is more than one civil restraining order (e.g., domestic violence, juvenile, elder 
abuse, civil harassment), then the order that was issued last must be enforced. Provisions that do not conflict with 
the most recent civil restraining order must be enforced.

If the Protected Person Contacts the Restrained Person
Even if the protected person invites or consents to contact with the restrained person, this order remains in effect and must 
be enforced. The protected person cannot be arrested for inviting or consenting to contact with the restrained person. The 
order can be changed only by another court order. (Pen. Code, § 13710(b).)
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CH-109 Notice of Court Hearing Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

1 Person Seeking Protection
a. Your Full Name:

Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case):

Name: State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

b. Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information. If 
you do not have a lawyer and want to keep your home address private, 
you may give a different mailing address instead. You do not have to 
give telephone, fax, or email.)

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: Fax:

Email Address:

2 Person From Whom Protection Is Sought

Full Name:

The court will complete the rest of this form.

3 Notice of Hearing

A court hearing is scheduled on the request for restraining orders against the person in     :2

Hearing
Date

Date: Time:

Dept.: Room:

Name and address of court if different from above:

4 Temporary Restraining Orders (Any orders granted are on form CH-110, served with this notice.)

a. Temporary Restraining Orders for personal conduct and stay-away orders as requested in form CH-100, Request 
for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders, are (check only one box below):

(1) All GRANTED until the court hearing.

(2) All DENIED until the court hearing. (Specify reasons for denial in b, below.)

(3) Partly GRANTED and partly DENIED until the court hearing. (Specify reasons for denial in b, below.)

If you attend the hearing (in person, by phone, or by videoconference) and the judge grants a restraining order against 
you, the order will be effective immediately, and you could be arrested if you violate the order. 

• 

If you do not attend the hearing, the judge may still grant the restraining order that could last up to five years. After 
you receive a copy of the order, you could be arrested if you violate the order. 

•

To the person in      :2
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Case Number:

b. Reasons for denial of some or all of those personal conduct and stay-away orders as requested in form CH-100, 
Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders, are:

(1) The facts as stated in form CH-100 do not sufficiently show acts of violence, threats of violence, or a 
course of conduct that seriously alarmed, annoyed, or harassed the person in 1                                                                                                                                 and caused substantial 
emotional distress.  

(2) Other (specify): As stated on Attachment 4b.

5 Confidential Information Regarding Minor

a. A Request to Keep Minor’s Information Confidential (form CH-160) was made and GRANTED. (See form 
CH-165, Order on Request to Keep Minor's Information Confidential, served with this form.) 

b. If the request was granted, the information described in item       7                                                                                                               on the order (form CH-165) must be 
kept CONFIDENTIAL. The disclosure or misuse of the information is punishable as a sanction, with a 
fine of up to $1,000 or other court penalities.

6 Service of Documents for the Person in 1

At least                                                                                 five      days before the hearing                                                                                                   , someone age 18 or older—not you or anyone to be 
protected—must personally give (serve) a court s file-stamped copy of this form CH-109 to the person in 2

along with a copy of all the forms indicated below:

a. CH-100, Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders (file-stamped)

b. CH-110, Temporary Restraining Order (file-stamped) IF GRANTED

c. CH-120, Response to Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders (blank form)

d. CH-120-INFO, How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders?

e. CH-170, Notice of Order Protecting Information of Minor and CH-165, Order on Request to Keep Minor’s 
Information Confidential (file-stamped) IF GRANTED

f. Other (specify):

’

Date:
Judicial Officer
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Print this form Save this form Clear this form
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear
This Form button after you have printed the form.

Case Number:

To the Person in     :1

• The court cannot make the restraining orders after the court hearing unless the person in       2                                                                                                                                                    has been personally given  
(served) a copy of your request and any temporary orders. To show that the person in 2                                                                                                                                               has been served, the person 
who served the forms must fill out a proof of service form. Form CH-200, Proof of Personal Service, may be used.

• For information about service, read form CH-200-INFO, What Is “Proof of Personal Service”?

• 2You may ask to reschedule the hearing if you are unable to find the person in        and need more time to serve the 
documents, or for other good reasons. Read form CH-115-INFO, How to Ask for a New Hearing Date.  

You must attend the hearing if you want the judge to make any of the orders you requested on form CH-100, Request 
for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders. Bring any evidence or witnesses you have. For more information, read form 
CH-100-INFO, Can a Civil Harassment Restraining Order Help Me?

• 

To the Person in     :2

• If you want to respond to the request for orders in writing, file form CH-120, Response to Request for Civil  
Harassment Restraining Orders, and have someone age 18 or older—not you or anyone to be protected—mail it to 
the person in       . 1

• The person who mailed the form must fill out a proof of service form. Form CH-250, Proof of Service by Mail, may be 
used. File the completed form with the court before the hearing and bring a copy with you to the court hearing.

• Whether or not you respond in writing, go to the hearing if you want the judge to hear from you before making an  
order. You may tell the judge why you agree or disagree with the orders requested.

You may bring witnesses and other evidence. • 

• At the hearing, the judge may make restraining orders against you that could last up to five years and may order you to 
turn in to law enforcement, or sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, any firearms (guns) and firearm parts that you 
own or possess. This includes firearm receivers and frames, and any item that may be used as or easily turned into a 
receiver or frame (see Penal Code section 16531).  

If you are unable to attend your court hearing or need more time to prepare your case, you may ask to reschedule your 
court date. Read form CH-115-INFO, How to Ask for a New Hearing Date.

• 

Request for Accommodations

Assistive listening systems, computer-assisted real-time captioning, or sign language interpreter 
services are available if you ask at least five days before the hearing. Contact the clerk’s office or go to 
www.courts.ca.gov/forms for Disability Accommodation Request (form MC-410). (Civ. Code, § 54.8.)

(Clerk will fill out this part.)

—Clerk's Certificate—

I certify that this Notice of Court Hearing is a true and correct copy of the original on file in the court. 

Clerk’s Certificate
[seal]

Date:

Clerk, by , Deputy
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Instructions and Forms You May Need  

After Your First Hearing 
 
 
 
 

What you will find in this packet: 

• Request to Continue Court Hearing and to Reissue Temporary Restraining 
Order (CH-115) 

 
• Notice of New Hearing Date and Order on Reissuance  (CH-116)  
 
• How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders? 

(CH-120-INFO) 
 
• Response to Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders (CH-120) 
 
• Civil Harassment Restraining Order After Hearing (CLETS-CHO) (CH-130) 
 
• What is “Proof of Personal Service”?  (CH-200-INFO) 
 
• Proof of Personal Service  (CH-200) 
 
• Proof of Service of Response by Mail  (CH-250) 

 
• Request to Reschedule Hearing to Renew Restraining Order (CH-715) 

 
• Order to Reschedule Hearing to Renew Restraining Order (CH-716) 
 
• Proof of Firearms Turned In or Sold  (CH-800) 
 
• How Do I Turn In or Sell My Firearms?  (CH-800-INFO) 

 
 

You Can Get Court Forms FREE at:  www.cc-courts.org/forms 
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Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Fill in case number:
Case Number:

CH-115 Request to Continue Court Hearing

Instructions: Use this form to ask the court to reschedule the court date listed 
on  Notice of Court Hearing (form CH-109). Read, How to Ask for a New 
Hearing Date (form CH-115-INFO), for more information.  

I have a court date currently scheduled for (date):

2 Information About My Case

(full name):The other party in this case isa.

b.

1 My Information 

a.

Restrained party (give your contact information below). 

Protected party (skip to        ).

I am the:

Name: State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

Address:

Telephone:

State: Zip:

Email Address:

City:

b.

My contact information (optional):
Fax:

My name is:

Address where I can receive mail:

2(1)

(2)

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
Revised January 1, 2020, Mandatory Form  
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.6(p)

Request to Continue Court Hearing 
(Temporary Restraining Order) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

This is not a Court Order.

This address will be used by the court and other party to notify 
you in this case. If you want to keep your home address private, 
you can use another address like a post office box or another 
person s address, if you have their permission. If you have a 
lawyer, give your lawyer s address and contact information.

’
’

Lawyer s information (skip if you do not have one):’

https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/ch109.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/ch115info.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/ch115info.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/ch115info.pdf


Case Number:

CH-115, Page 2 of 2Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
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Request to Continue Court Hearing 
(Temporary Restraining Order) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

This is not a Court Order.

4 Why does the court date need to be rescheduled?

c.

I am the restrained party, and this is my first request to reschedule the court date.b.

a. I am the person asking for protection, and I need more time to have the restrained party personally served.

Date the order was made, if known:Yes. 

Notice: If the court date is rescheduled, the Temporary Restraining Order (form CH-110) will remain in effect 
until the end of the new court date unless otherwise ordered by the court.

Is a Temporary Restraining Order in effect?3

No. 

Please attach a copy of the order if you have one.

Other reason:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and correct.

Date:

Type or print your name Sign your name

Lawyer s name, if you have one Lawyer s signature

Date:

’ ’

I don t know.’

https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/ch110.pdf


Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Fill in case number:

Case Number:

Order on Request to Continue Hearing

Next Court Date

1

2

Complete items 1 2

3

4 Temporary Restraining Order 

The court will complete the rest of this form

CH-116, Page 1 of 3

Warning and Notice to 
the Restrained Party:

If 4  b is checked, a civil 
harassment restraining 
order has been issued 
against you. You must 
follow the orders until 

they expire.

There is no Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) in this case until the next court date because:.

A TRO was not previously granted by the court.

A Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) is still in full force and effect because:

a.

(1)

b.

c. (specify):Other

(2)

(1)

(2) The court changes the TRO previously granted and signs a new TRO (form
              ).

(date)

It now expires on (date):

The court extends the TRO previously granted on          : 

(If no date is listed, the TRO expires at the end of the court date listed in 3b.)

(1) Any Temporary Restraining Order (form              )

The request to reschedule the court date is granted. Your court date is rescheduled for the day and time 

The request to reschedule the court date is denied.a.

Your court date is:

b.

Date: Time:
Room:Dept.:

New
Court
Date



Name and address of court, if different from above:

Protected Party:

Restrained Party:

(2) Your court date is not rescheduled because:

The court terminates (cancels) the previously granted TRO because:

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
Rev. September 1, 2022, Mandatory Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 527.6 and 527.9

only.and

listed below. See

This is a Court Order.

 Order on Request to Continue Hearing 
(Temporary Restraining Order) (CLETS-TCH) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

4  –  8 for more information.

CH-116

already granted
stays in full force and effect until the next court date.

Superior Court of California, County of

CH-110

CH-110



Case Number:

CH-116, Page 2 of 3

6 Serving (Giving) Order to Other Party

The request to reschedule was made by the:

Reason Court Date Is Rescheduled

(2)

(1) The protected party has not served the restrained party.
Other:

This is the first time that the restrained party has asked for more time to prepare.

5

There is good cause to reschedule the court date (check one):

b.

c. The court reschedules the court date on its own motion.

a.

Rev. September 1, 2022

This is a Court Order.

 Order on Request to Continue Hearing 
(Temporary Restraining Order) (CLETS-TCH) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

You must have the protected 
party served with a copy of 
this order. This can be done 
by mail. You must serve by 

You must have the restrained 
party served with a copy of 
this order. This can be done 
by mail. You must serve by 

You do not have to serve the 
restrained party because they
or their lawyer were at the
court date or agreed to
reschedule the court date.

(1)

You must have the protected 
party personally served with a 
copy of this order by

(2)

(date):

(date):

Protected party Restrained partyb. Courtc.

Further notice is not required.(1)

(2)

You do not have to serve the 
protected party because they
or their lawyer were at the
court date or agreed to
reschedule the court date.

(1)

(3)

(4)

(date):

(3)

(5)

(date):

a.

(2) The court will mail a copy of 
this order to all parties by

.
(date):

(3)

Other:

Other:

Other:

You must have the restrained
party personally served with a 
copy of this order and a copy
of all documents listed on 
form , item 6 , by

The court gives you 
permission to serve the 
restrained party as listed on 
the attached form CH-117.

(4)

CH-109



Request for Accommodations
Assistive listening systems, computer-assisted real-time captioning, or sign language interpreter services 
are available if you ask at least five days before the hearing. Contact the clerk’s office or go to
www.courts.ca.gov/forms.htm for Disability Accommodation Request (form MC-410). (Civ. Code, 
§ 54.8.)

—Clerk's Certificate—

I certify that this Order on Request to Continue Hearing (Temporary Restraining 
Order) (CLETS-TCH) is a true and correct copy of the original on file in the court.

Clerk’s Certificate

[seal]

Clerk, by , DeputyDate:

Date:

Judicial Officer

CH-116, Page 3 of 3

7

Case Number:

No Fee to Serve (Notify) Restrained Person

The sheriff or marshal will serve this order for free because:

a.

b. 1

8

Ordered Not Ordered

The order is based on unlawful violence, a credible threat of violence, or stalking.

The person in 

Rev. September 1, 2022

Other Orders

Instructions to Clerk 
If the hearing is rescheduled and the court extended, modified, or terminated a temporary restraining order, then the 
court must enter this order into CLETS or send this order to law enforcement to enter into CLETS. This must be 
done within one business day from the day the order is made.

is entitled to a fee waiver.

This is a Court Order.

 Order on Request to Continue Hearing 
(Temporary Restraining Order) (CLETS-TCH) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)



How Can I Respond to a Request for
Civil Harassment Restraining Orders?

What is a civil harassment restraining
order?

What does the order do? 

Not contact the person who asked for the order
Stay away from that person and the person’s home
and workplace
Not have any firearms (guns), firearm parts, or 
ammunition as long as the order is in effect. This 
includes firearm receivers and frames, and any item 
that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver 
or frame (see Penal Code section 16531).

Who can ask for a civil harassment
restraining order? 

Stalked
Harassed
Assaulted, including sexually, or

Do I have to serve the other person with a
copy of my response?

Should I go to the court hearing?
Yes. You should go to court on the date listed on form
CH-109, Notice of Court Hearing. If you do not go to
the hearing, the judge can make orders against you
without hearing from you.

How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil 
Harassment Restraining Orders? 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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•

•

•
•
•
•

What if I don't agree with what the order
says?
You still must obey the order until the hearing. If you 
disagree with the orders the person is asking for, fill out 
form

before your hearing
date and file it with the court. If you need to include
attachments, you can use form You can get the 
forms from legal publishers or from the California 
Courts website at  Forms may 
also be at your local courthouse or county law library.

Yes. Have someone age 18 or older—not you—mail a
copy of completed form CH-120 to the person who
asked for the order (or that person’s lawyer). (This is
called “service by mail.”)

Threatened with violence

CH-120-INFO

It is a court order that prohibits you from doing certain
things and going to certain places.

A person who is worried about safety because he or she
has been or is being:

The court can order you to:

I've been served with a request for civil
harassment restraining orders. What do I
do now? 
Read the papers served on you very carefully. The
Notice of Court Hearing tells you when to appear in
court. There may also be a Temporary Restraining 
Order forbidding you from doing certain things. You
must obey the order until the hearing.

What if I don't obey the order? 
The police can arrest you. You can go to jail and pay a
fine.

The person who serves the form by mail must fill out
form Have the person 
who did the mailing sign the original. Take the 
completed form back to the court clerk or bring  it with 
you to the hearing.For more information about the items you would not 

be allowed to have, please see https://selfhelp
.courts.ca.gov/restraining-orders/prohibited-items.

CH-250, Proof of Service by Mail.

CH-120, Response to Request for Civil
Harassment Restraining Orders,

MC-025.

www.courts.ca.gov/forms.



Will I see the person who asked for  the 
order at the court hearing?

Can I bring a witness to the court  hearing? 

What if I don't speak English?
When you file your papers, ask the clerk if a court 
interpreter is available. You can also use form
Request for Interpreter (Civil), or a local court form or 
website to request an interpreter. For more information 
about court interpreters, go to
.gov/request-interpreter.Do I need a lawyer?

Having a lawyer is always a good idea, but it is not
required, and you are not entitled to a free, court-
appointed attorney. Ask the court clerk about free and 
low-cost legal services and self-help centers in your 
county.

What if I have a gun?
If a restraining order is issued, you cannot own, possess,
or have a firearm (gun), firearm parts, or ammunition 
while the order is in effect. If you have a firearm (gun) 
or firearm parts in your immediate possession or control, 
you must sell it to or store it with a licensed gun dealer, 
or turn it in to a law enforcement agency.

Can I agree with the protected person to 
cancel the order?

Yes. Assume that the person who is asking for the order 
will attend the hearing. Do not talk to him or her unless 
the judge or that person’s attorney says that you can.

Yes. You can bring witnesses or documents that support 
your case to the hearing. But if possible, you should also 
bring the witnesses’ written statements of what they saw 
or heard. Their statements must be made under penalty 
of perjury. You can use form           for this.

If the court issued a temporary restraining order before 
the hearing, it will last until your hearing date. At that 
time, the court will decide to continue or cancel the 
order. Any order issued at the hearing can last for up to 
five years.

How long does the order last?

For help in your area, contact: 
[Local information may be inserted.]

What if I have a disability?

If you have a disability and need an accommodation 
while you are at court, you can use form
Disability Accommodation Request, to make your 
request. You can also ask the ADA Coordinator in your 
court for help. For more information, see form
INFO, How to Request a Disability Accommodation for 
Court.

No. Once the order is issued, only the judge can change
or cancel it. You or the protected person would have to
file a request with the court to cancel the order.

How Can I Respond to a Request for
Civil Harassment Restraining Orders?CH-120-INFO

How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil 
Harassment Restraining Orders? 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-120-INFO, Page 2 of 2 Rev. January 1, 2023

Information about the process is also 
available online.
See https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/CH-restraining-order.

MC-030

INT-300,

https://selfhelp.courts.ca

MC-410,

MC-410-
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Response to Request for Civil Harassment 
Restraining Orders 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-120, Page 1 of 4

CH-120 Response to Request for Civil
Harassment Restraining Orders

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

Use this form to respond to the Request (form CH-100)
• Read How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil Harassment 

Restraining Orders? (form CH-120-INFO) to protect your rights.
• Fill out this form and take it to the court clerk. 
• Have someone age 18 or older—not you—serve the person in       or 

his or her lawyer by mail with a copy of this form and any attached 
pages. (Use form CH-250, Proof of Service by Mail.)

1

1 Person Seeking Protection
Full name of person seeking protection (see form CH-100, item      ):1

2 Person From Whom Protection Is Sought
a. Your Name:

Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case)
Name: State Bar No.:
Firm Name:

b. Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information. 
If you do not have a lawyer and want to keep your home address 
private, you may give a different mailing address instead. You do not 
have to give telephone, fax, or email.)
Address:
City: State: Zip:
Telephone: Fax:
Email Address:

3 Personal Conduct Orders

a. I agree to the orders requested.
b. I do not agree to the orders requested. 

(Specify why you disagree in item       on page 3.) 11

c. I agree to the following orders (Specify below or in item       on page 3.)11

Present your response and any opposition at the
hearing. Write your hearing date, time, and place
from form CH-109 item      here:3

Hearing
Date

Date: Time:
Dept.: Room:

If you were served with a Temporary
Restraining Order, you must obey it until the
hearing. At the hearing, the court may make 
orders against you that last for up to five years.

4 Stay-Away Orders
a. I agree to the orders requested.
b. I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 3.)11

I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 3):c. 11

5 Additional Protected Persons 
I agree that the persons listed in item      of form CH-100 may be protected by the order requested.a. 3

I do not agree that the persons listed in item      of form CH-100 may be protected by the order requested.b. 3

www.courts.ca.gov



 Rev. January 1, 2023 Response to Request for Civil Harassment 
Restraining Orders 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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Case Number:

6 Firearms (Guns), Firearm Parts, and Ammunition
If you were served with form CH-110, Temporary Restraining Order, you cannot own or possess any firearms 
(guns), firearm parts, or ammunition. This includes firearm receivers and frames, and any item that may be 
used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame (see Penal Code section 16531). (See item       of form 
CH-110.) You must sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, or turn in to a law enforcement agency, any 
firearms (guns) or firearm parts in your immediate possession or control within 24 hours of being served 
with form CH-110. You must file a receipt with the court. You may use Receipt for Firearms and Firearm 
Parts (form CH-800) for the receipt.

7

a. I do not own or control any firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition.
b. I ask for an exemption from the firearms prohibition under Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9(f) because 

carrying a firearm is a condition of my employment, and my employer is unable to reassign me to another 
position where a firearm is unnecessary. (Explain):

Check here if there is not enough space below for your answer. Put your complete answer on an attached 
sheet  of paper and write “Attachment 6b—Firearms Surrender Exemption” as a title. You may use form 
MC-025, Attachment.

c. I have turned in my firearms (guns) and firearm parts to the police or sold them to or stored them with a 
licensed gun dealer.
A copy of the receipt is attached. has already been filed with the court.

7 Possession and Protection of Animals
a. I agree to the orders requested.
b. I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 3.)11

c. I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 3):11

a. I agree to the orders requested.
b. I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 3.)11

c. I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 3):11

8 Other Orders

9 Denial
I did not do anything described in item       of form CH-100. (Skip to       .)7 11



 Rev. January 1, 2023 Response to Request for Civil Harassment 
Restraining Orders 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)
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Case Number:

10 Justification or Excuse
If I did some or all of the things that the person in       has accused me of, my actions were justified or excused for 
the following reasons (explain):

1

Check here if there is not enough space below for your answer. Put your complete answer on an attached sheet
of paper and write “Attachment 10—Justification or Excuse” as a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

11 Reasons I Do Not Agree to the Orders Requested
Explain your answers to each order requested that you do not agree with.

Check here if there is not enough space below for your answer. Put your complete answer on an attached sheet
of paper and write “Attachment 11—Reasons I Disagree” as a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.
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Case Number:

12
a. I request that I not be required to pay the filing fee because the person in      claims in form CH-100

item       to be entitled to free filing.
1

13

b. I request that I not be required to pay the filing fee because I am eligible for a fee waiver. (Form FW-001, 
Request to Waive Court Fees, must be filed separately.)

No Fee for Filing

13 Lawyer's Fees and Costs
a. I ask the court to order payment of my Lawyer’s fees Court costs. 

The amounts requested are:

Item Amount Item Amount
$ $
$ $
$ $

Check here if there are more items. Put the items and amounts on the attached sheet of paper and write 
“Attachment 13—Lawyer’s Fees and Costs” for a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

b. I ask the court to deny the request of the person asking for protection that I pay his or her lawyer’s fees 
and costs. 

14 Number of pages attached to this form, if any:

Date:

Lawyer’s name (if any) Lawyer’s signature

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above and on all 
attachments is true and correct.

Date:

Type or print your name Sign your name



This is a Court Order.
Judicial Council of California,   
Rev. January 1, 2024, Mandatory Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 527.6 and 527.9 
Approved by DOJ 

Civil Harassment Restraining Order After Hearing
(CLETS-CHO) 

  (Civil Harassment Prevention)
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CH-130 Civil Harassment Restraining  
Order After Hearing

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

Person in       must complete      ,      , and       only.1 1 2 3

1 Protected Person
Your Full Name:

Name: State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case)

a.

Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information.  
If you do not have a lawyer and want to keep your home address  
private, you may give a different mailing address instead. You do not  
have to give telephone, fax, or email.)

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: Fax:

Email Address:

b.

2 Restrained Person
(Give all the information you know. Information with a star (*) is required 
to add this order to the California police database. If age is unknown,  
give an estimate.)

Home Address:

City:

Relationship to Protected Person:

State: Zip:

*Age:*Full Name:

*Gender: M F Nonbinary

Height: Weight:

Date of Birth:

Hair Color: Eye Color:*Race:

3 Additional Protected Persons
In addition to the person named in      , the following family or household members of that person are protected by  
the orders indicated below:

1

How are they related to you?AgeGender Lives with you?Full Name

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Check here if there are additional persons. List them on an attached sheet of paper and write “Attachment 3—
Additional Protected Persons” as a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

4
This Order, except for any award of lawyer’s fees, expires at

(date):Time: midnight onp.m.a.m.

Expiration Date

If no expiration date is written here, this Order expires three years from the date of issuance.
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  (Civil Harassment Prevention)

This is a Court Order.

Case Number:

5 Hearing
(date): at (time): in Dept.: Room:

(Name of judicial officer):

There was a hearing on

made the orders at the hearing.

a.

b. These people were at the hearing:

The person in      .1 The lawyer for the person in 1 (name):(1) (3)

The person in      .2 The lawyer for the person in 2 (name):(2) (4)

Additional persons present are listed at the end of this Order on Attachment 5.

The hearing is continued. The parties must return to court on (date): at (time):c. .

The court has granted the orders checked below. If you do not obey these orders, you can be arrested 
and charged with a crime. You may be sent to jail for up to one year, pay a fine of up to $1,000, or both.

To the Person in     :2

6 Personal Conduct Orders

a. You must not do the following things to the person named in      1

and to the other protected persons listed in      : 3

(1) Harass, intimidate, molest, attack, strike, stalk, threaten, assault (sexually or otherwise), hit, abuse,  
destroy personal property of, or disturb the peace of the person.

(2) Contact the person, either directly or indirectly, in any way, including, but not limited to, in person, by 
telephone, in writing, by public or private mail, by interoffice mail, by email, by text message, by fax, 
or by other electronic means. 

(3) Take any action to obtain the person’s address or location. If this item (3) is not checked, the court has  
found good cause not to make this order.

(4) Other (specify):

Other personal conduct orders are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 6a(4).

b. Peaceful written contact through a lawyer or process server or other person for service of legal papers related to
a court case is allowed and does not violate this Order.

7 Stay-Away Orders

a. You must stay at least                         yards away from (check all that apply):

1(1) The person in       .

3(2) Each person in      . 

1(3) The home of the person in       . 

1
(4) The job or workplace of the person 

in      .

1(5) The school of the person in       . 

1
(6) The school of the children of the 

person in      .

1
(7) The place of child care of the children of 

the person in       .

1(8) The vehicle of the person in      . 

(9) Other (specify):

This stay-away order does not prevent you from going to or from your home or place of employment.b.



This is a Court Order.
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Case Number:

8 No Firearms (Guns), Firearm Parts, or Ammunition
a. You cannot own, possess, have, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or in any other way get any 

prohibited items listed below in b.

b. Prohibited items are:

Firearms (guns);(1)

(2) Firearm parts, meaning receivers and frames, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver
or frame (see Penal Code section 16531); and

(3) Ammunition.

If you have not already done so, you must:

Within 24 hours of being served with this Order, sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, or turn in to a 
law enforcement agency, any firearms (guns) and firearm parts in your custody or control or that you 
possess or own.
File a receipt with the court within 48 hours of receiving this Order that proves that your firearms (guns) and
firearm parts have been turned in, sold, or stored. (You may use Receipt for Firearms and Firearm Parts 
(form CH-800) for the receipt.)

•

•

c.

The court has received information that you own or possess a firearm (gun), firearm parts, or ammunition.d.

The court has made the necessary findings and applies the firearm relinquishment exemption under Code of 
Civil Procedure section 527.9(f). Under California law, the person in       is not required to relinquish this 
firearm (specify make, model, and serial number of firearm(s)): 
 
The firearm must be in the physical possession of the person in       only during scheduled work hours and 
during travel to and from their place of employment. Even if exempt under California law, the person in       
may be subject to federal prosecution for possessing or controlling a firearm.

e.
2

2

2

9 Lawyer's Fees and Costs
The person in         must pay to the person in         the following amounts for

lawyer’s fees costs:

$ $

$ $

Item Amount Item Amount

Additional items and amounts are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 9.

10 Possession and Protection of Animals
a. The person in       is given the sole possession, care, and control of the animals listed below, which are 

owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held by him or her, or reside in his or her household. 
(Identify animals by, e.g., type, breed, name, color, sex.)

1

b. The person in       must stay at least            yards away from, and not take, sell, transfer, encumber, conceal, 
molest, attack, strike, threaten, harm, or otherwise dispose of, the animals listed above.

2
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Case Number:

11 Other Orders (specify):

Additional orders are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 11.

To the Person in     :1

12 Mandatory Entry of Order Into CARPOS Through CLETS
This Order must be entered into the California Restraining and Protective Order System (CARPOS) through the  
California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS). (Check one):

The clerk will enter this Order and its proof-of-service form into CARPOS.a.

The clerk will transmit this Order and its proof-of-service form to a law enforcement agency to be entered 
into CARPOS.

b.

By the close of business on the date that this Order is made, the person in       or his or her lawyer should  
deliver a copy of the Order and its proof-of-service form to the law enforcement agency listed below to  
enter into CARPOS:

c. 1

Name of Law Enforcement Agency Address (City, State, Zip)

Additional law enforcement agencies are listed at the end of this Order on Attachment 12.

13 Service of Order on Restrained Person
The person in      personally attended the hearing, either physically or remotely (by telephone ora. 2

videoconference). No other proof of service is needed.

b. The person in       did not attend the hearing.2

Proof of service of form CH-110, Temporary Restraining Order, was presented to the court. The  
judge’s orders in this form are the same as in form CH-110 except for the expiration date. The person in 
       must be served with this Order. Service may be by mail.2

(1)

The judge’s orders in this form are different from the temporary restraining orders in form CH-110. 
Someone—but not anyone in      or      —must personally serve a copy of this Order on  the person 
in      .

1 3
2

(2)

14 No Fee to Serve (Notify) Restrained Person

The sheriff or marshal will serve this Order without charge because: 

The Order is based on unlawful violence, a credible threat of violence, or stalking.a.
The person in       is entitled to a fee waiver.1b.

Number of pages attached to this Order, if any:15

Date:

Judicial Officer



This is a Court Order.
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Case Number:

Warning and Notice to the Restrained Person in      : 2

You Cannot Have Firearms (Guns), Firearm Parts, or Ammunition
Unless item 8e is checked, you cannot own, have, possess, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or otherwise get any
prohibited items listed in item 8b on page 3 while this Order is in effect. If you do, you can go to jail and pay a $1,000 
fine. You must sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, or turn in to a law enforcement agency, any firearms (guns) and 
firearm parts that you have or control as stated in       above. The court will require you to prove that you did so.8

Instructions for Law Enforcement

Enforcing the Restraining Order

This Order is enforceable by any law enforcement agency that has received the Order, is shown a copy of the Order, or  
has verified its existence on the California Restraining and Protective Order System (CARPOS). If the law enforcement 
agency has not received proof of service on the restrained person, and the restrained person was not present at the court 
hearing (see      ), the agency must advise the restrained person of the terms of the Order and then must enforce it. 
Violations of this Order are subject to criminal penalties.

13

Start Date and End Date of Orders
This Order starts on the date next to the judge’s signature on page 4 and ends on the expiration date in      on page 1.4

Arrest Required If Order Is Violated
If an officer has probable cause to believe that the restrained person had notice of the order and has disobeyed it, the  
officer must arrest the restrained person. (Pen. Code, §§ 836(c)(1), 13701(b).) A violation of the order may be a violation  
of Penal Code section 166 or 273.6. Agencies are encouraged to enter violation messages into CARPOS.

Notice/Proof of Service
The law enforcement agency must first determine if the restrained person had notice of the order. Consider the restrained  
person “served” (given notice) if (Pen. Code, § 836(c)(2)):

The officer sees a copy of the Proof of Service or confirms that the Proof of Service is on file; or•
The restrained person was at the restraining order hearing (see      ) or was informed of the order by an officer.• 13

An officer can obtain information about the contents of the order and proof of service in CARPOS. If proof of service on  
the restrained person cannot be verified and the restrained person was not present at the court hearing, the agency must  
advise the restrained person of the terms of the order and then enforce it.

If the Protected Person Contacts the Restrained Person
Even if the protected person invites or consents to contact with the restrained person, this Order remains in effect and  
must be enforced. The protected person cannot be arrested for inviting or consenting to contact with the restrained person. 
The orders can be changed only by another court order. (Pen. Code, § 13710(b).)



This is a Court Order.
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Print this form Save this form Clear this form
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear
This Form button after you have printed the form.

Case Number:

Conflicting Orders—Priorities for Enforcement

If more than one restraining order has been issued protecting the protected person from the restrained
person, the orders must be enforced in the following priority (see Pen. Code, § 136.2 and Fam. Code,             
§§ 6383(h)(2), 6405(b)): 

1.  Emergency Protective Order (EPO): If one of the orders is an Emergency Protective Order (form EPO-001), 
provisions (e.g., stay-away order) that are more restrictive than in the other restraining/protective orders must be 
enforced. Provisions of another order that do not conflict with the EPO must be enforced.  

2.  No-Contact Order: If a restraining/protective order includes a no-contact order, the no-contact order must be  
enforced. Item 6a(2) is an example of a no-contact order. 

3.  Criminal Protective Order (CPO): If none of the orders include an EPO or a no-contact order, the most recent 
CPO must be enforced. (Fam. Code, §§ 6383(h)(2) and 6405(b).) Additionally, a CPO issued in a criminal case 
involving charges of domestic violence, Penal Code sections 261, 261.5, or former 262, or charges requiring sex 
offender registration must be enforced over any civil court order. (Pen. Code, § 136.2(e)(2).) All provisions in the 
civil court order that do not conflict with the CPO must be enforced.  

4.  Civil Restraining Orders: If there is more than one civil restraining order (e.g., domestic violence, juvenile, elder 
abuse, civil harassment), then the order that was issued last must be enforced. Provisions that do not conflict with 
the most recent civil restraining order must be enforced.

—Clerk's Certificate—

I certify that this Civil Harassment Restraining Order After Hearing is a true and  
correct copy of the original on file in the court. 

Clerk’s Certificate
[seal]

Clerk, by , Deputy

(Clerk will fill out this part.)

Date:
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CH-200 Proof of Personal Service Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

1 Person Seeking Protection
Name:

2 Person From Whom Protection Is Sought
Name:

3 Notice to Server
The server must:
• Be 18 years of age or older.
• Not be listed in items 1 or 3

of form CH-100.
• Give a copy of all documents checked in       to the person in      . 

(You cannot send them by mail.) Then complete and sign this 
form and give or mail it to the person in      .

4 2

1

PROOF OF PERSONAL SERVICE
4 I gave the person in 2 a copy of the forms checked below:

a. CH-109, Notice of Court Hearing 
b. CH-110, Temporary Restraining Order
c. CH-100, Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders
d. CH-120, Response to Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders (blank form)
e. CH-120-INFO, How Can I Respond to a Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders?
f. CH-130, Civil Harassment Restraining Order After Hearing
g. CH-250, Proof of Service by Mail (blank form)
h. CH-800, Receipt for Firearms and Firearm Parts (blank form)
i. Other (specify):

5 I personally gave copies of the documents checked above to the person in      :2
a. On (date): b. At (time): a.m. p.m.
c. At this address: 

City: State: Zip:

6 Server s Information’
Name:
Address:
City: State: Zip:
Telephone:

(If you are a registered process server):
County of registration: Registration number:
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and
correct.

Date:

Type or print server’s name Server to sign here

Judicial Council of California,
Rev. January 1, 2023, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.6

Proof of Personal Service 
(Civil Harassment Prevention) 

CH-200, Page 1 of 1www.courts.ca.gov



Judicial Council of California,
Rev. September 1, 2022, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.6 

Proof of Service by Mail  (CLETS)
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-250,  Page 1 of 1

CH-250 Proof of Service by Mail

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Fill in case number:

Case Number:

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

1 Name of Person Asking for Protection:

2 Name of Person to Be Restrained:

Notice to Server
The server must:

3

• Be 18 years of age or over.

• 1 2 or 3                                                                                        Request for Civil 
Harassment Restraining Orders.
Not be listed in items      ,     , of form CH-100,

• Mail a copy of all documents checked in      .4
to the person in 5 .

a.

I (the server) am 18 years of age or over and live in or am employed 
in the county where the mailing took place. I mailed a copy of all 
documents checked below to the person in      :

CH-120, Response to Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders

4

5

b.

c. Other

CH-130, Civil Harassment Restraining Order After Hearing

(specify):

5 I placed copies of the documents checked above in a sealed envelope and mailed them as described below:

a. Name of person served:

b. To this address:

City: State: Zip:

c. Mailed on (date):

d. Mailed from (city): (state):

6 Server’s Information

Name:

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone:

If you are a registered process server:
County of registration: Registration number:

7 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and
correct.

Date:

Type or print server’s name Server to sign here

www.courts.ca.gov



Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
New January 1, 2024, Mandatory Form  
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.6  

Request to Reschedule Hearing  
to Renew Restraining Order  

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

CH-715, Page 1 of 2

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Fill in case number:

Case Number:

CH-715 Request to Reschedule Hearing to
Renew Restraining Order

Instructions: Either party may use this form to ask the court to reschedule the 
hearing (court date) listed on form CH-710, Notice of Hearing to Renew 
Restraining Order. Note: If the hearing is rescheduled, the restraining order 
will be extended until the new court hearing. 

This is not a Court Order.

The court date is currently scheduled for (date):

1 My Information 

a.

2 Information About Your Case

(full name):The other party in this case isa.

b.

My name is:

This address will be used by the court and by the other party to send 
you official court dates, orders, and papers. For privacy, you may use 
another address like a post office box, a Safe at Home address, or 
another person’s address, if you have their permission. If you have a 
lawyer, give their information.

Address: 
Zip:State:City: 

Address where I can receive mail:

Lawyer’s information (skip if you do not have one)

Name: State Bar No.:
Firm Name:

Additional contact information (optional) 

Telephone: Fax:
Email Address: 

Restrained party (give your contact information below).

Protected party (skip to      ).

I am the (check one):b.

(1) 2

(2)



Print this form Save this form Clear this form
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear
This Form button after you have printed the form.

New January 1, 2024 Request to Reschedule Hearing 
to Renew Restraining Order  

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

Case Number:

CH-715, Page 2 of 2

4

Why does your court date need to be rescheduled?

b.

I need more time to have the restrained party served.a.

3

Other reason:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and 
correct.

Signature

Date:

Type or print your name Sign your name

Lawyer's signature (if you have one)

Lawyer’s name Lawyer’s signature

Date:

5

Your Next Steps

Complete form CH-716, Order to Reschedule Hearing to Renew Restraining Order (only items      and      ).

File forms CH-715 and CH-716 with the court. A judge will review your forms and decide whether to reschedule your 
court date. 

If the judge denies your request to reschedule, you must go to your court hearing (listed on form CH-710).

If the judge grants your request to reschedule your court date, you must have someone serve a copy of all forms listed 
on form CH-716, item      . Your server can be the sheriff or another adult who is not involved in the case. For more 
information on how to serve the restrained person, go to https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/CH-restraining-order/renew/
sheriff-serves.

5

1 2



Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
New January 1, 2024, Mandatory Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.6  

 Order to Reschedule Hearing  
to Renew Restraining Order (CLETS-CHO) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

Order to Reschedule Hearing  
to Renew Restraining OrderCH-716

The Civil Harassment Restraining Order After Hearing 
(CH-130) granted in this case stays in full force and effect until 
your court date. 

Next Court Date

b.

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Fill in case number:

Case Number:

1

2

This is a Court Order.

Your court date is not rescheduled because:  

Date: Time:
Room:Dept.:

New 
Court 
Date



Name and address of court, if different from above:

CH-716, Page 1 of 3

3

Denied: The request to reschedule the court date is denieda.

  Warning and Notice to the Restrained Party:  
You must obey the restraining order while it is in effect.

Your court date is:

(1)

Protected Party:

Restrained Party:

Granted: The request to reschedule the court date is granted. Your court date is rescheduled for the day and 
time listed below. The current restraining order stays in effect until the hearing date below or the original 
expiration date, whichever is later. See               for more information. 

(Complete          1 2 only. The court will complete the rest of this form.)and

(2)

4 7–



New January 1, 2024  Order to Reschedule Hearing 
to Renew Restraining Order (CLETS-CHO) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

The court will mail a copy of 
this order to all parties by       
                                                 

You must have the protected 
party served with a copy of 
this order. This can be done by
mail. You must serve by 

You must have the protected 
party personally served with a 
copy of this order by                

You must have the restrained 
party served with a copy of 
this order. This can be done by
mail. You must serve by 

You must have the restrained  
party personally served with a 
copy of all the forms listed on 
form CH-710, item      , by

This is a Court Order.

CH-716, Page 2 of 3

You do not have to serve the 
restrained party because they  
or their lawyer were at the  
court date or agreed to  
reschedule the court date. 

Serving (Giving) Order to Other Party5

(1)

(2)

(date):
(date):

Protected party Restrained partyb. Courtc.

Further notice is not required. (1)

(2)

You do not have to serve the 
protected party because they  
or their lawyer were at the  
court date or agreed to  
reschedule the court date.

(1)

(3)

(4)

(date):

(3)

(4)

(date):

The request to reschedule was made by the:

a.

(2)

(date):

(3)

Reason Court Date Is Rescheduled4

The protected party has not served the restrained party.a.

Other: Other:

Other:

b. Other reason:

4

Case Number:



Print this form Save this form Clear this form
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear
This Form button after you have printed the form.

New January 1, 2024  Order to Reschedule Hearing 
to Renew Restraining Order (CLETS-CHO) 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

Request for Accommodations   
Assistive listening systems, computer-assisted real-time captioning, or sign language interpreter services 
are available if you ask at least five days before the hearing. Contact the clerk’s office or go to  
www.courts.ca.gov/forms.htm for Disability Accommodation Request (form MC-410). (Civ. Code,  
§ 54.8.)

—Clerk's Certificate—

I certify that this Order to Reschedule Hearing to Renew Restraining Order (form 
CH-716) is a true and correct copy of the original on file in the court.

Clerk’s Certificate

[seal]

Clerk, by: , DeputyDate:

Date:
Judicial Officer

This is a Court Order.

CH-716, Page 3 of 3

Instructions to Clerk 
If the court rescheduled the court date, the court must enter this order into CLETS or send this order to law 
enforcement to enter into CLETS. This must be done within one business day from the day the order is made.

Other Orders7

6 No Fee to Serve (Notify) Restrained Person

The sheriff or marshal will serve this order for free because:

a.

b. 1

Ordered Not Ordered

The order is based on unlawful violence, a credible threat of violence, or stalking.

The person in       is entitled to a fee waiver.

Case Number:



If a judge has ordered you to turn in, sell, or store your firearms (guns) and firearm parts—meaning receivers, 
frames, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame (see Penal Code section 16531)— 
use this form to prove to the judge that you have obeyed their orders. Take this form to a law enforcement officer or 
a licensed gun dealer to complete item      or      . For more information on how to properly turn in your items, read 
form CH-800-INFO, How Do I Turn In, Sell, or Store My Firearms and Firearm Parts?

To Law Enforcement
(Complete the section below. Keep a copy and give the original to the person in       .)

CH-800, Page 1 of 3
Judicial Council of California, 
Rev. January 1, 2023, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 527.6 and 527.9; 
Penal Code, § 29830

3

4

4 5

To the Restrained Person:

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

Receipt for Firearms and Firearm 
Parts

2

Date: Time: a.m. p.m.

Name of Law Enforcement Agency:
Name of Law Enforcement Agent:
Address:
Telephone: Email Address:

Items Surrendered

b. List of items (List all the items surrendered by the person in      . You may attach a separate form from your 
agency (e.g., a property report), use item      , or both. Check below if you have attached a separate form): 

a. Firearms and firearm parts transferred on:

 Separate form is attached. (If it does not include all surrendered items, list additional items in item       .) 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is 
true and correct.

Signature of law enforcement agent:

2

DRAFT

10/31/2022

Not approved by 
the Judicial Council

CH-800

1 Petitioner

2

Name:

Restrained Person

Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case):

Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information. 
If you do not have a lawyer and want to keep your home address 
private, you may give a different mailing address instead. You do not 
have to give telephone, fax, or email.)

a.

b.

Your Name:

Name: State Bar No.:
Firm Name:

Address:
City: State: Zip:
Telephone: Fax:
Email Address:

6

6

Receipt for Firearms and Firearm Parts
(Civil Harassment Prevention)

www.courts.ca.gov



Rev. January 1, 2023

6

CH-800, Page 2 of 3

Case Number:

To Licensed Gun Dealer5

Name of Licensed Gun Dealer:
License number:
Address:
Telephone: Email Address:

(Complete the section below. Keep a copy and give the original to the person in       .)2

Date: Time: a.m. p.m.

Items Stored or Sold
a. Firearms and firearm parts transferred on:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is 
true and correct.

Signature of licensed gun dealer:

Firearms and firearm parts Serial Number, 
 if there is oneModel

(2)
(3)
(4)

Make
(1)

Stored

(5)
(6)

To be 
destroyedSold

List of Items Surrendered

Check here if there is not enough space above for your answer. Use a separate sheet of paper to list other items.
Write “CH-800, item 6” at the top, and attach it to this form.

b. List of items (List all the items surrendered by the person in      . You may attach a separate form (e.g., 
Department of Justice’s Report of Firearms Acquisition) or you may use item      . Check below if you have 
attached a separate form): 

 Separate form is attached. (If it does not include all surrendered items, list additional items in item       .) 

2
6

6

Receipt for Firearms and Firearm Parts
(Civil Harassment Prevention)



7

Case Number:

To the Restrained Person:

 I am filing the proof for those firearms (guns) and firearm parts along with this proof.

 I have not yet filed the proof for the other firearms (guns) and firearm parts. 

Besides the items listed on page 2 or in an attached form, do you have or own any other firearms (guns) or firearm 
parts?

(If yes, check one of the boxes below):

b.

c.

a.

Yes

No

court on (date):
I filed a Receipt for Firearms and Firearm Parts (form CH-800) or other proof for those items with the

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and 
correct.

Your signature

Date:

Type or print your name Sign your name

Rev. January 1, 2023 CH-800, Page 3 of 3

Your Next Steps

Note that failure to file a receipt with the court is a violation of the court's order. 

After the form is complete, make two additional copies. Take the copies and original to the court clerk to file.

Keep a copy for yourself.

(Explain why not):

Receipt for Firearms and Firearm Parts
(Civil Harassment Prevention) 



CH-800-INFO, Page 1 of 1Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
Rev. January 1, 2023, Optional Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 527.6 and 527.9

How Do I Turn In, Sell, or Store My Firearms
and Firearm Parts? 

(Civil Harassment Prevention)

How do I properly turn in, sell, or store the
prohibited items?

CH-800-INFO How Do I Turn In, Sell, or Store My Firearms
and Firearm Parts?

You must take them to:
 • Law enforcement, who will accept all prohibited 

items and may store them or destroy them;

 • A licensed gun dealer, who can buy or store 
firearms. If you have firearm parts, call ahead for 
more information. 

You must turn in, sell, or store all of the following 
prohibited items that you have or control:
 • Firearms, including any handgun, rifle, shotgun, 

and assault weapon; 
 • Firearm parts, meaning receivers, frames, or any 

item that may be used as or easily turned into a 
receiver or frame (see Penal Code section 16531). 
These may also be called   ghost guns. 

What items do I need to turn in, sell, or store? 

Where can I sell the prohibited items?
At a licensed gun dealer in your area. You can search the 
internet for “Gun Dealers” or “Firearms Dealers” to find 
one. Make sure the dealer is licensed.

After I turn in the prohibited items to law 
enforcement, can I change my mind?
Yes. You are allowed to sell firearms to a licensed gun 
dealer. To do so, the gun dealer must present a bill of sale 
to your local law enforcement agency. The law 
enforcement agency will give the licensed gun dealer the 
items that you are selling.

Do I have to prove that I have turned in, sold, 
or stored the prohibited items?
Yes. Within 48 hours you must file a receipt with the court 
showing that you have surrendered the prohibited items to 
a law enforcement agency or sold them to or stored them 
with a licensed gun dealer. You may use

purpose.

Additional Questions?
Contact an attorney for legal advice. Call your local law 
enforcement agency, for example, your city police or 
county sheriff for their procedures.

[Local information may be inserted.]
For help in your area, contact: 

“ ”

When do I have to turn in, sell, or store the
prohibited items?
Immediately, if law enforcement asks you for the items. 
Otherwise, within 24 hours. 

If I turn in the prohibited items to law 
enforcement, how long will they keep them?
It depends. There are procedures for getting your firearms 
back after the restraining order has expired. Ask the law 
enforcement agency for more information. 

Who can I turn in, sell, or store the prohibited 
items with?
Only law enforcement or a licensed gun dealer. You cannot 
give your prohibited items to a family member, friend, or 
anyone else. 

OR

How do I turn in the prohibited items to law
enforcement?
Call your local law enforcement agency to ask about their 
procedures. Unload your firearms and take a copy of the 
court order with you.
Do not bring firearms to court.

Do I have to pay a fee to store prohibited 
items?
You may have to pay a fee. Contact your local law 
enforcement agency or a licensed gun dealer about fees and 
whether they have space to store your items.

Information about prohibited items and how 
to obey these orders is also available online.

You also may not have or possess ammunition.

See https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/respond-to-CH-
restraining-order/obey-firearms-orders.

Receipt for
Firearms and Firearm Parts (form CH-800) for this
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